Things I found while procrastinating

Ashton Greenwood
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2017
Screencap from my Series

My bi-weekly media experiment for this cycle was inspired by my weekly post from last week, which referred to the internet as “procrastination station.”

So for this experiment, I went back to the internet to curate the content. I relied on something that I find is a key component of the social internet experience for millennials: memes. I selected memes that I felt embody a lot of the feelings college students have about procrastination.

I selected Medium’s new “Series” as the platform to produce my experiment because I felt that Series best captures the activity of scrolling and swiping we participate in when we are procrastinating, especially on smartphones.

A key element of this experiment is that it was created using Series, therefore simulating the mobility of procrastination. To view the series, follow this link.

If you do not wish to download the Medium mobile app, I’ve also included screencaps below of what the series looks like.

--

--