Uprooted from her hometown of Assam, here is how former teacher and Meesho entrepreneur Licha Sarma Goswami found a new identity in Bangalore

Mangala Dilip
Meesho Tech
Published in
5 min readNov 23, 2020

What does a government school teacher who strongly believes in financial independence do when her career is cut short by a relocation after marriage? She becomes a Meesho entrepreneur, of course. At least, that is what Assam-born and bred Licha Sarma Goswami did when she had to relocate to Bangalore after her wedding in 2019.

Having been financially independent all her life, Licha knew that relying on her husband for all her needs was out of the question. So after she settled down in a new city last year, one of the first things Licha did was to seek out opportunities to earn a livelihood, and it came knocking at her door in the form of a Google ad for Meesho. A quick download and a couple of orders later, Licha knew that there would be no turning back.

Now, thanks to her commitment to treating her customers right and her helpful husband’s tips on how to run a business, Licha is a successful entrepreneur with an ever-growing customer base, and you can read all about her story here:

Growing up in a middle-class family in Assam, I dreamt of being financially independent and able to provide for my family early on in life. I did not waste any time and started looking out for job opportunities as soon as I completed my BBA from Gauhati Commerce College.

Life before Meesho

My first job was in the private sector, working as the office and administrative executive in an IT company in Guwahati before taking up a contractual administrative role in the District Collector’s office in Mangaldai. Soon after, I got the opportunity to become a teacher of Retail Trade at the Bhakatpara Government Higher Secondary School, where I taught 9th and 10th standard students.

As I was just beginning to enjoy my new role thoroughly, I got married and moved to Bangalore with my husband Dibyajyoti Kaudinya in April 2019. This move certainly brought with it, a huge culture shock, but I was not about to let that overwhelm me into complacency. Soon, I started looking for career opportunities and that is when I saw an ad for Meesho.

Reselling seemed like a whole new world at the time, and I was certainly nervous about venturing into this profession. But, I put my best foot forward, placed my first order, and then the next, and so on. At the end of the month, when my first Meesho salary was credited, I was deliriously happy, and so a new chapter of my life begun — and I became a Meesho entrepreneur!

My cheerleaders

I started reselling in November 2019, and my first few customers were my friends and family, but this has certainly changed in the last year. My initial customers are still loyal to me, and I to them, but the customer base is now much larger, thanks in large part to my supportive family. My sister, who is a government employee, for example, is my biggest referrer, and most of her colleagues and friends are now my customers.

My husband is my other cheerleader. He is happiest to see me cheer up when I see my salary being credited to my account. He runs a medical equipment manufacturing and disposal company in Bangalore and is very knowledgeable about masks, gloves, and other items that were in high demand during the lockdown. So, he would keep me updated on all the details I must keep in mind, and guided me in finding the right products for reselling as well. I am also extremely thankful for the fact that when I am busy with my online business, rather than nag me to do chores around the house, he takes care of it, without disturbing me. He is as committed as I am towards my entrepreneurial journey.

Less margin, more sale

When it comes to business strategy, I tend to side towards less margin-more sales. Especially with more and more entrepreneurs entering the market, we need to have competitive prices for products to survive. Moreover, when it comes to logistics, refund policies, and the return of orders, Meesho offers the best solutions. So, the place that we can most customise is the price of the product. This is one of the best ways to gain customers’ trust as well.

During my time with Meesho, I have met many inspiring women and learnt their stories. I feel a kinship with all of them, since we are on the same journey of financial independence, and I am thankful for events like Mission Rise Entrepreneurial Summit, where we all get to catch up with each other. At the beginning of this year, we had a Mission Rise event in Bangalore where I made a lot of connections.

I still keep in touch with all of them and we help each other out in times of need. I try my best to support them and it feels great to be part of a community like this.

I see my business expanding gradually in the next few years. I hope to continue being a Meesho entrepreneur and polish my business skills and keep making my customers happy, while also expanding my reach. The idea is to grow but without leaving any of my initial customers anyone behind.

Mitu Moni spills the secret sauce to become a successful Meesho entrepreneur

Entrepreneur Ananya Roy Choudhary is unstoppable even during the lockdown

Help entrepreneurs like Licha Sarma Goswami become successful but joining the team Meesho rocketship. We are hiring. Check out all the Meesho job openings here.

--

--