Word of mouth, a sound Whatsapp strategy & a little help from Meesho gave Guwahati-based Mitu Moni the courage to fly solo as an entrepreneur

Mangala Dilip
Meesho Tech
Published in
5 min readNov 4, 2020

Mitu Moni from Guwahati is among those entrepreneurs who joined Meesho long before it became as popular as it is today, and the timing could not have been more right. The opportunity to work in jobs that she loved and to be financially independent was snatched away from Mitu on multiple occasions, and when Meesho came her way she could not be happier at the prospect of being in charge of her own destiny.

In April 2018, Mitu, who was frustrated with the fact that despite being financially independent for most of her life, she was having to rely on her family for money, found out about Meesho on YouTube. She downloaded the app right away and found instant success in reselling. Today Mitu is a successful entrepreneur and also acts as a mentor to other upcoming businesswomen who are doing business on Meesho.

We love inspiring stories of our entrepreneurs, and Mitu’s is certainly one that we treasure. Read all about how Mitu found her financial independence with a helping hand from Meesho:

Life before Meesho

I have been working since my student days. I believe that all girls must be independent and I found my way to financial freedom at a young age working part-time as an anchor in an event management company. I loved the work I did and was even offered a full-time position when I completed my graduation in English Honours. But, I had certain responsibilities at home, especially after my father passed away and my work timings did not align with my other responsibilities. So I had to quit my job.

Eventually, I joined a cancer research centre in Guwahati where I multitasked in cash handling, pharmacy management, and patient counselling. Following this, I also joined a Dr Batra centre and managed the HR department. Around this time, I was getting married and decided to take what was supposed to be a short hiatus from work.

That short break never ended, because it turned out that after my marriage I could not find the right job. During this period my mother-in-law passed away unexpectedly, I had to take on even more responsibilities at home and had to give up on my dream of working. This was extremely upsetting for me.

I was frustrated because I have worked all my life, and I had been financially independent since my student days. Now, my bank balance was depleting and I was having to ask my husband for money, which I was always uncomfortable with. It was during this difficult and lowest period of my life that I found a Meesho video on YouTube and decided to give it a go.

Jab I became a reseller

When I joined Meesho in 2018, reselling as a profession wasn’t as popular as it is today. Very few people knew about it. Right from the beginning, I received a great response from my customers — be it people within my personal circle or those outside of it. I never thought that I would get as many orders as I did in such a small span of time, especially since I have never dabbled in entrepreneurship or had a business of my own.

I started reselling through WhatsApp status and on the very first day I got two orders, which was highly unexpected. I was very happy with how Meesho handled the logistics and my customers were satisfied as well. Word of mouth got around and soon my customer base increased.

The most exciting part about joining Meesho was when my first payment got credited. I was extremely happy with being in charge. I can work overtime when I feel the need for it or I can be laid back and take a break when I need to. I am my own boss now!

Top tips to run a business

Anyone can take up reselling, and you are bound to succeed if you have a knack for it and can commit to it. But, I would strongly recommend joining Meesho’s mentorship programme (I am a mentor too), where new entrepreneurs can learn so many valuable skills.

Another important thing to remember is that you have to create a brand image and maintain it. For all intents and purposes, you are a shopkeeper of your online store, and that is the only approach to truly sustain your business.

Meri Mission Rise (Connect)

I love Mission Rise events and connecting with other entrepreneurs. I have been a panellist at the physical Mission Rise events twice — once in Guwahati and in Agartala. At these panels, I shared insights about how to use Whatsapp, Instagram, Facebook and other online platforms to use to your advantage as a Meesho entrepreneur. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

With Mission Rise, I was actually eagerly waiting to share my own story and experiences, but I found so many other women like me and that was a wonderful feeling — I think I found my community. I am excited about doing it again — this time online. On November 6, I will be a panellist for Mission Rise Connect in Assamese.

Next Meesho milestone

Because reselling as a profession has become so popular, there are so many entrepreneurs now, and the competition is hard. So, my primary goal now is to bring back some of my former customers and to grow my business.

Find out how Meeshoites are prioritising mental health through Learnovate
Karthik Venkatasamy reveals the only way to survive Meesho’s unmatched growth

Are you following us on social media yet? You might want to head over to Life at Meesho’s Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn pages if you are a fan of fun and positivity.

--

--