Entrepreneur Vichitra Rahul on putting customers first and helping women become financially independent through Meesho

Mangala Dilip
Meesho Tech
Published in
5 min readSep 18, 2020

Vichitra Rahul is a busy mother with two school-going sons and a full-time job. She also happens to be a successful Meesho entrepreneur, whose success mantra is to keep the needs of her customers first. And this is the mantra that Vichitra loves about Meesho too. There hasn’t been a tough situation in Vichitra’s reselling career that Meesho’s hasn’t helped her through and she is projecting the same outlook towards her own clients.

From being a VIP entrepreneur to sharing her reselling tips as a panellist during Mission Rise events, Vichitra is certainly a success story that Meesho is proud of, and we are honoured to share it.

Read on to hear Vichitra’s story in her own words:

Life Before Meesho

I am a B.Com graduate, who has been working with an Independent Financial Advisor (IFA) group in Mutual Funds for the past ten years. My manager is very supportive of my Meesho reselling career. In fact, he was the one who introduced me to Meesho and even installed the app for me after finding out about it on Facebook in May 2018. My husband Rahul and my two sons are also equally supportive of my Meesho career.

Jab I became a Meesho entrepreneur

Reselling was a little difficult in the beginning, but I have since then been able to find my footing as an entrepreneur. Because Meesho app has a variety of products, it has been easy to promote the app among customers. I primarily do my reselling on WhatsApp, Facebook, and in person.

One of the reasons for my steady entrepreneurial career is definitely because of efficient customer support at Meesho. No matter what issue I am dealing with, the executives at Meesho promptly handle it and keep us in the loop of things.

It would be remiss of me to not acknowledge that Meesho is diligent with our finances — be it our regular payment or our commission charges. I have never had to worry about whether I would get the money I am owed, it is a given that the money would be in my account within the time that it should be. Overall, it is the abundance of trust that I have in Meesho, which translates to the trust my customers have in me, and that is what makes me want to keep reselling.

I also have a really large friends circle and many of them have become my customers over time. Seeing me do well and also being satisfied with the quality of products I sell, they wanted to try their hand at reselling too, and that is how I began seriously looking at the referral programme too. I handheld my friends’ journey into reselling on the Meesho platform. Currently, I have six entrepreneurs working with me through the referral programme.

Top tips to run a business

I rely quite a bit on product ratings and reviews. If I see products that are M-trusted, I do not hesitate to share it with my customers. Customer satisfaction is the most important thing when it comes to any business. I believe in finding the best quality products that my customers want and sharing it with them as per their convenience, instead of hiding facts or selling sub-quality products. These are some of the professional practices that have helped me become a trusted entrepreneur among my customers.

Meri Mission Rise (Connect)

I recently received the Women Entrepreneur award at the Mission Rise event held in Thiruvananthapuram in January 2020. It was an amazing experience meeting and interacting with many entrepreneurs like myself. We even went on to create a group on WhatsApp where we communicate regularly. Till date, I have been proactive about helping all of them out when they reach out requesting for help and they are the same too. We all help each other as much as we can.

Since the lockdown began, the physical Mission Rise summits became online Mission Rise Connects and I was invited to be a panellist on it this month, which I consider to be a great honour. But more importantly, events such as these are a great respite for all of us sitting at home and is a living proof that Meesho works hard to help entrepreneurs succeed. People who may not know about Meesho reselling may also feel more inclined to join when they see Mission Rise Connect and understand that so many people are a part of it, and there is a great team working behind the scenes as well.

Next Meesho milestone

I used to be a VIP entrepreneur but because of the lockdown business suffered a little, so my hope is to get back on that list. Honestly, I am not a hugely ambitious person, but my hope is to ensure that my family is doing well, and to get my friends who are struggling financially onboard Meesho as entrepreneurs as well.

I am doing this along with a job and while raising two sons. So, I am hopeful that my homemaker friends will definitely be able to be a successful Meesho entrepreneur as well.

Have you read about entrepreneur Sindhuja’s amazing journey with Meesho?

Company>Team>Individual is more than just words for Senior Operations Manager Triloknath Mohapatra

Are you following us on social media yet? You might want to head over to Life at Meesho’s Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn pages if you are a fan of fun and positivity.tanaya.chanda@meesho.com

--

--