Mintlodica

The Megaphone Cyclone interview

Jon Bell
Megaphone Cyclone
2 min readNov 8, 2018

--

Tell us a little about yourself!

It’s me, Mintlodica. My IRL name is Susan. I’m a Lead Product Designer currently working at Cloudflare. Here’s my serious work self. But if you prefer to pretend I’m a doge, try Mango Roll dot Shiba. On the internet, no one knows you’re a doge.

Are you a part of any smaller online communities?

Yes, I’m active in 2. A small’ish friends community with roots from a small’ish design unconference. And an ex-coworkers chat. I tried to start a chat for design leads, but it’s very quiet. It’s made me think of the circumstances which makes a community take off.

Have you met anyone from the internet in person?

All my good friends are from the internet. Everyone except my partner, a good girl friend, and my only high school friend. I met the internet friends over the course of the last few years. It doesn’t go so well now that I’m more visible. I’ll miss that sweet spot, back when there was enough signal to show I’m not a creep and not attract creeps myself.

What is one thing you wish you could take from online communities to use IRL?

The ability to skip small talk about weather, work, and sports straight to niche interests. The ability to block is a close second.

What would your ideal method of communication look like?

A mostly online friendship with monthly 1:1s. And maybe a quarterly group meet-up. I like people who understand that my lack of desire to meet in person isn’t out of spite. I love going to people’s homes instead of outside. Thus, I maintain friendships more easily with adults versus adult children.

What’s your relationship with email?

We make it work. I have a dozen active filters. Only direct emails reach my main inbox. That and bills, because we all gotta pay the bills.

Which 5 questions would you like to ask the next person?

  1. Would you describe yourself as a very online person?
  2. Are you a part of any smaller online communities?
  3. Have you met anyone from the internet in person?
  4. What is one thing you wish you could take from online communities to use IRL?
  5. Who was the last interesting person you met offline?

Read more: Chris answers these questions here.

About

Megaphone Cyclone is a series of interviews about information overload. We have a line-up slated, but we’re always looking for more. Please email megaphone@lot23.com if you’re interested in being interviewed. Thanks!

--

--

Jon Bell
Megaphone Cyclone

Designer, writer, teacher. I love building things.