Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

Metafictions: Table of Contents

Ivery del Campo
Metafictions
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2023

--

Preface

About Metafictions: Temporal Landings

Permanent Transitions

How Do I Live Now Without the Life of the Mind?On transitioning to a less rigorous, but more variedly lived post-academic life

The Fading Away of a Former LifeHow digital walls imposed through online classes detached me from what I thought I could never live without

Living with the Stranger WithinMaintaining self-awareness when juggling multiple selves

Literature, Media, and Culture

My Family in Parallel Universes The multiverse in literature (Borges’s “The Garden of Forking Paths”) and in my domestic life

Returning to Many Old Notebooks, Many Old SelvesA primer on metafiction through my meta-notebooks

Why I Don’t Listen to Music, Podcasts, and AudiobooksHow time is experienced differently when you read compared to when you listen to or watch something

The Romantic and Realist ParadoxLessons on romance, realism, and metafiction from literary studies

Film/TV Essays

Terror, Beauty, Trauma in Bird Box Barcelona On the weaponization of emotional wounds

--

--