Life of a Dark Rose Album Review

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
5 min readJan 12, 2018
Album Cover

Kimetrius Foose more known as Lil Skies released his debut album January 10, 2018. If you haven’t checked out my XXL Freshman Class Predictions article here is the link. He is one of my predictions, with hit songs such as Red Roses and Nowadays. Let’s get into the review, drop your own review down below and tell me what you think:

Lil Skies

Song #1: Welcome to the Rodeo

Talks about his life growing up as a drug dealer and now that he is here. The Chorus is really good but the beat is just alright.

Favorite Line:

I got tattoos on my face, I use that shit as motivation

I could never get a job, so for my dream, I’m dedicated

For a second lost myself, I was too busy gettin’ faded

Grade: B

Song #2: The Clique

Focuses on how he is true to his clique and won’t switch up no matter the circumstances. The Chorus has a nice ring to it but could use some work but the beat go hard.

Favorite Line:

Ooh, lil’ ho, I’m too legit

Caught up in this fast life, I don’t ever wanna quit

You can save the sad stories, I ain’t fallin’ for that shit

I got diamonds, see me shinin’, they all hittin’, I don’t miss

Grade: D

Song #3: Red Roses (feat. Landon Cube)

Brings up how all his friends are fake and have snitched him before, so now he has trust issues. I really really liked the Chorus and the beat is also good.

Favorite Line:

And with some Backwoods and a lighter just so I could spark

Midnight rider, never put the car in park

I’m shining bright just like a light cause I came from the dark

Grade: A

Song #4: Lust

Speaks of his love of drugs and his love of girls and money. Chorus was alright it was repeated but good and the beat was great.

Favorite Line:

My car ain’t got no roof, thought this shit was bulletproof

I can’t feel my face, smokin’ on Gorilla Glue

Zoomin’ in the coupe, that’s the shit I like to do

These is yellow diamonds, shinin’ like I’m Pikachu

Grade: B

Song #5: Cloudy Skies

He is obviously scared to get into a relationship and is questioning his love for her. The Chorus is iffy and the beat is clean.

Favorite Line:

Rockstar lifestyle, might just die tonight

If I was down and had nobody, would you sacrifice?

They said loose ends break friends, I ain’t tryna fight

Grade: C

Song #6: Signs of Jealousy

Here he raps about life in general and the haters. The Chorus is great and the beat has a very nice ring to it as well.

Favorite Line:

Charged up, I feel like triple-A

Think she loyal, I’m fucking your bae

Let ’em talk, I don’t care what they say

Grade: B

Song #7: Big Money

Brings up how loyal he is too his friends and would never switch. Chorus is okay but the beat is real good.

Favorite Line:

My cup so dirty it might kill you when you take a sip

Bitch I’m so high think I’m the pilot of this battleship

Hopped in the car, sped off too fast and almost crashed my whip

The cops come for me, then I’m silent I could never snitch

Grade: C

Song #8: Tell My Haters

Speaks on his haters again and stuff that he has now that he’s famous. The Chorus is trash and the beat is decent.

Favorite Line:

Takin’ chances that they told me that I shouldn’t take

Now I sit back and laugh at them ’cause they was full of hate

And time is money, we can’t talk if it ain’t ‘bout the cake

Now you an actor, fake, bitch just get out my face

Grade: F

Song #9: Boss Up

Basically he is just rapping doesn’t really have a topic but all in all is good. The Chorus is fire and the beat is fire.

Favorite Line:

And I just popped an Addy, that shit gave me the chills

Dark life up in the Hills, go buffalo for bills

I fucked her for the thrill, girl, I won’t pay your bills

Grade: A

Song #10: Garden

This song hurts my ears and sounds like it is was recorded on a laptop from 10 years ago. The Chorus is okay and the beat is trash.

Favorite Line:

I put my back against the wall and just scream, “Fuck ’em all”

Now that I’m up they like to call and try to get involved

I look my shorty in the eyes like, “I can’t do you wrong”

You ride for me, I ride for you, that’s how we get along

Grade: F

Song #11: Lettuce Sandwich

Title has me dying! The song is very chill. Chorus is long but good and I really enjoy the beat.

Favorite Line:

Got music blastin’ through my speakers

In the game you was on the bleachers

I don’t text her back, I don’t need her

You really thought she was a keeper

Grade: B

Song #12: Strictly Business

Talks about he can’t handle new friends and how fake people messed him up. Chorus is good but the beat could use some work.

Favorite Line:

Wanna make it with the people that was there from the start

I don’t need no new people, they gon’ tear me apart

You can’t shine with me now, you left me stuck in the dark

Strictly business nowadays, I got no time for your heart

Grade: C

Song #13: Kill4u

Has a girlfriend is obviously in love and wants it too last. Chorus is okay and beat was iffy.

Favorite Line:

I like the way you dance, you got no point to prove

I shine just like a jewel, my baby that’s my boo

We both is off the goop and swerving in my Coupe

Grade: C

Song #14: Nowadays (feat. Landon Cube)

In this song he featured singer Landon Cube and they speak on life in general. The Chorus is amazing and the beat is fire too.

Favorite Line:

But niggas don’t stick to the G-code, balling on my haters

I think that I’m stuck in beast mode

Make it through the foul run to the line and make the free throw

I think that I’m D. Rose

Grade: A

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!