Top 20 Albums of 2019 so far‼️ (June 1st)

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
11 min readJun 6, 2019

This list right here is going to make a lot of people mad. Sorry in advance. A lot of the albums I’ve heard by big name artists this year have been disappointing such as Offset’s, Future’s, Logic’s, Nav’s, Rich The Kid’s and, Gunna’s. Some of the albums on this list you probably never heard of before. Some of these artists you have probably never heard of before. This list was almost impossible for me to make. All 20 of these albums I loved it was so hard picking the order. I hope you have fun while reading and if you have any questions, comments or concerns leave them down below and don’t forget to clap the article.

20. 2 Chainz- Rap or Go to the League

This album wasn’t amazing but it also wasn’t bad. My first time listening to this album I was barely paying attention. My 2nd time listening I paid close attention and felt the same way. It wasn’t what I wanted from 2 Chainz. The song with Ariana Grande was amazing! The radio overplays it but other than that I think the album was decent. The only reason it’s on this list because I needed 20 and didn’t have any other favorites.

19. DaBaby- Baby on Baby

There is only one song on this album that I LOVE. A couple of the songs I like but this album wasn’t amazing. I like DaBaby I think his music is very catchy but I have one problem with him. He needs to stay out of trouble! I see his name in scandals and drama all the time. I think his music videos are creative and very funny. He has potential to become an amazing rapper. He needs to stay out of trouble and continuing dropping music videos and you will see DaBaby everywhere.

18. YG- 4REAL 4REAL

Me personally I don’t like YG as an artist. There isn’t a single YG song with no features that I like. The features on this album held it up strongly. Tyga, Jon Z, Valee, Boogie and, DaBaby were my favorite features. The song ‘I Was On The Block’ with Valee and Boogie is amazing and Boogie killed it. I love the line when he said “And if my oppers catch me sloppy, see me slippin’ and shit, Just write a sentence on my grave, say, “This nigga was lit”.” Just the way he said that line and everything made it sound so good. The album was good but not great.

17. Lil Skies- Shelby

Lil Skies hasn’t dropped an album since the beginning of 2018 when he released ‘The Life of a Dark Rose’. That album was amazing and I’m pretty sure it was the first rap article I ever wrote. I loved the album and fell in love with Skies music at that moment. This album was way different though. It was a lot more depressing and had a lot more sad songs and a lot less lit songs. It was a very good album but not better than ‘The Life of a Dark Rose’.

16. Scarlxrd- 0000.Infinity

Scarlxrd is a British rapper. He makes screaming rap. After those 2 sentences you are most likely rolling your eyes and skipping this part of the article. The album was very good. I would like it to be higher than 16 but I just can’t. I can’t because I had one problem with this album. The album had 0 variety at all. Every single song sounded the exact same. I liked a very good percentage of the songs and have bumped this album a lot. If you haven’t listened to this album and you are a fan of XXXTentacion then you should listen to it. He reminds me a lot of screaming X.

15. Beast Coast- Escape From New York

This Beast Coast album I’ve been waiting on for awhile. I wasn’t disappointed in my favorite members of Beast Coast but I was disappointed in some people. Beast Coast consists of Pro Era (Joey Bada$$, Kirk Knight, Nyck Caution, CJ Fly, and Powers Pleasant), Flatbush Zombies (Meechy Darko, Zombie Juice, and Erick Arc Elliott), and the Underachievers (AKTHESAVIOR and Issa Gold). I love the Flatbush Zombies and they killed the entire album! I love Joey Bada$$ and he killed the entire album. Everybody else could have improved a little bit. A lot of the songs sounded the same as well. But all in all it was a great album!

14. Mir Fontane- Who’s Watching The Kids 2

This one just recently released not too long ago. I have been following Mir Fontane for some years now and his voice is amazing. He has DaBaby as a feature on the album. That song with DaBaby deserves a lot of credit, it is definitely my favorite song off of the album. I haven’t yet listened to ‘Who’s Watching The Kids 1’ so I can’t compare them. If you haven’t heard of Mir Fontane your sleeping heavy. You should listen to his songs ‘Bodega’ and ‘Frank Ocean’ along with this whole album.

13. PnB Rock- Trapstar Turnt Popstar

This album was awesome! It had an XXXTentacion feature and if you didn’t know, I am the biggest X fan in the world. This album should definitely be higher up on this list but just like the Scarlxrd album this album had no variety. Every song was the same old pop type song or it was the same flow for every rap song. The features held this album up a lot. My favorite features were XXXTentacion, Tory Lanez, Lil Durk, Lil Wayne and, Roddy Ricch. If you are a PnB Rock fan and haven’t heard this album you should check it out because I think it is his best project.

12. DJ Khaled- Father of Ahsad

DJ KHALED! Strikes again. I told myself before I listened to this album that I was going to give DJ Khaled a chance. I usually hate his projects because the screaming that he does ruins most of his songs. There was so many bangers on this album. The SZA song where they sampled the Outkast song ‘Ms. Jackson’ was amazing. The song with John Legend and Nipsey Hussle is getting blasted all around my hometown. I go to the same high school that John Legend did and I am friends with some of his family members. This album should be probably be higher than #12 but there have been many great underrated albums this year.

11. Denzel Curry- Zuu

Denzel Curry is someone I have been following for awhile. This album was amazing! Although I think he could’ve had some better features which would’ve definitely boosted this album to Top 10. Most of the songs are so catchy and I can see them as some big club banger songs. His voice is amazing and he really showed that with this project. He brought up the death of his close friend and amazing rapper XXXTentacion in a couple lines. All in all this albums replay value is high and I will be listening to this until I get another Denzel project.

10. YNW Melly- We All Shine

YNW Melly has a style of rap I’ve never heard of before. He raps about trap topics but does it in a high pitched singing voice. This album was the 2nd album I listened too in 2019 and it was a very good one. The Kanye West song ‘Mixed Personalities’ was amazing and I play that about every single day. Right now Melly is facing murder cases and rumor has it that his team is preparing another album release. I will be waiting patiently for some more bangers from YNW Melly!

9. Comethazine- Bawskee 2

Can you say XXL 2019? I can because Comethazine deserves it 100%! The first ‘Bawskee’ project I wasn’t a fan of honestly. But this album I literally liked every single song, They are all just so powerful and make you want to just kill someone…Just kidding:). But honestly if you are a fan of trap music and haven’t heard this album go listen to it right now because it is amazing! The music video for ‘NONSENSE’ goes crazy! ‘ONMYGRANNYKIDS’ and ‘NONSENSE’ are my 2 favorite songs and you would most likely enjoy them.

8. Montana of 300- Views From The General’s Helmet

BARS! There is nothing else to say. The features other than OD Quake were all trash and that’s why this isn’t Top 5. Every song had a million punchlines. I don’t have much to say because I already have an article on the way about this album so I’m going to keep this one short and sweet but be looking out for my article about this album.

7. Boogie- Everything’s 4 Sale

Boogie is one of the most underrated rappers in the game easily. I think he should change his name. He gets confused with another rapper by the name A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie. If you read Boogie’s YouTube comment section it’s literally everybody just saying “Am I the only one who thought this was A Boogie.” That sucks for Boogie because he deserves the credit. The song with J.I.D ‘Soho’ is so good, It’s probably my favorite song of the year!

6. Cooliecut- Falling

Cooliecut is AMAZING! This album deserves to be higher for sure but there was just too many good albums released this year. Cooliecut is apart of the group Members Only, I already have an article about the whole Members Only group. Here is the link to that article! This album was amazing the instruments on every song were perfect, his voice is amazing. I love how he switched it up on a couple of songs and had a very sick rap flow. Cooliecut is the only rapper on this list twice! If you’re reading this Coolie I tried to see you and the other Members in Columbus but I was too busy and didn’t have the money. Hopefully y’all come to Ohio again soon!

5. ScHoolboy Q- CrasH Talk

This album was crazy good. I wish I could put it higher up on the list. Almost every single song on this album was added to my playlist. The features on the album were surprising. I didn’t expect the young guys featured on the album such as 6lack, 21 Savage and, Lil Baby. But all 3 of those songs are amazing. My 2 favorite songs are ‘Drunk’ featuring 6lack and ‘Dangerous’ featuring Kid Cudi. Both of those features made these 2 songs some of my favorite of the year.

4. Tyler, The Creator- IGOR

I can’t say I didn’t see this coming…This was phenomenal. Tyler, shocked me so much. The vocals I didn’t expect, The amount of instruments I didn’t expect and just the whole thing in general was so weird. But Tyler killed it! Every song was so catchy and the features were amazing. I wish he would’ve listed them because I’m still a little confused on a couple of them but Lil Uzi Vert, Playboi Carti and, Kanye West all totally killed there parts! My favorite song is easily ‘EARFQUAKE’ or ‘RUNNING OUT OF TIME’.

3. Kevin Abstract- Arizona Baby

Kevin Abstract is a rapper apart of the group called Brockhampton. Kevin is the main reason I’m a fan of Brockhampton. This album touched me. It reminded me so much of my childhood. The hooks had Bruno Mars and Frank Ocean vibes and the verses had Tyler, The Creator and Kanye West vibes. If your mind isn’t open to new music and different sounds then don’t listen to this album. Kevin is openly gay and speaks about his sexuality on about every song. This album will definitely be one of my favorite albums of all time.

2. Members Only- Members Only Vol. 4

I strongly believe that I am the biggest Members Only fan out there. I love every single member and there music. This album was past amazing. Sadly it isn’t number 1 but it deserves it for sure. The song ‘Now or Never’ by Flyboy Tarantino, Craig Xen and, Kidway is probably my favorite song of the year. The song is so beautiful and makes me think of X every single time I listen to it. I have an article where I shared my thoughts on almost every single member! Click here for the link!

1. Juice Wrld- Death Race For Love

EVERY SINGLE SONG ON THIS ALBUM WAS AMAZING! Well except for ‘Syphilis’. ‘Syphilis’ wasn’t that good. But this is my favorite album of the year and will most likely stay that way all the way through 2019. The replay value of this album is insane. I have went back and listened to this album about a million times since it was released. I would tell you what my favorite songs off of the album are but I literally loved every single song. The 3 features were amazing, Brent Faiyaz killed the interlude, Clever’s part on ‘Ring Ring’ has turned me into a huge Clever fan, Last but not least Young Thug destroyed the track ‘ON GOD’.

Thank you so much for making it this far! I appreciate everyone that reads my articles they take a lot of time!

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!