What am I Listening too? — 5/21/18

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
5 min readMay 21, 2018

This is the 4th episode of this series. I hope you guys I like the series. No explanation needed let’s just hop straight into it.

Here is the Soundcloud songs:

YBN Cordae — My Name Is (Eminem Remix)

YBN Cordae- Old N*ggas (1985 Response)

Here is the Spotify songs:

beerbongs & bentleys- Post Malone

I’ve loved Post Malone ever since the Stoney album in 2016. His latest music like Rockstar and Psycho I haven’t liked, he just changed from Stoney and that is why I liked certain songs on beerbongs & bentleys. Mostly the sad songs but all songs I like are Rich & Sad, Better Now, Ball For Me, Same Bitches and, Candy Paint.

Until Death Call My Name- YoungBoy Never Broke Again

I’ve never liked YoungBoy Never Broke Again, he just sounds weird and doesn’t rap about topics I enjoy. But, for some reason on certain tracks in Until Death Call My Name he spit about real stuff and had amazing beats. I heard YoungBoy won’t be making XXL because the video released of him slamming his girlfriend but maybe next year. Here are the songs I liked, Outside Today, Villain, Traumatized and, Rags To Riches.

GOTTI- 6ix9ine

Grill me all you want, but 6ix9ine killed this shit. I hate 6ix9ine so much but this song just had a different vibe and the music video was clean. 6ix9ine is usually screaming and it justs aggravates me and hurts my eardrums but this song he was singing and it was way better than all his other songs.

Japan- Famous Dex

Trust me when I tell you I hate Famous Dex and I hated this song when I originally listened to ‘Dex Meets Dexter’. He released the video for it and then it started getting hype, It popped up in my recommended videos on YouTube and I said whatever and listened to it again. The chorus hit me and I was like “Damn this is catchy.” Although the verses are horrible.

I Don’t Die- Joyner Lucas and Chris Brown

Here we are again with another song from Joyner Lucas and Chris Brown. They released ‘Stranger’ Things earlier this year and now that they released another song this year there is a rumored album release together. Joyner gave us another fast flow and punchline filled song and Chris Brown gave us some vocals with a fast verse as well.

Watch- Travis Scott ft. Lil Uzi Vert and Kanye West

When I first found the time to listen to this song I was confused with Kanye and all his tweets but since then I realized he is one of the best salesman in the world! He has albums and songs releasing and what better way to get people to listen too his songs then start some controversy. Otherwise great song Lil Uzi Vert killed it, Travis Scott killed it and, Kanye West killed it.

SR3MM- Rae Sremmurd

SR3MM released and I was so excited because when Rae Sremmurd first blew up I loved them so much. Loved every song and have waited for an album from them for so long. I wasn’t as excited as I thought I’d be, I listened to every song and I got in my feelings from most songs. I need songs like No Flex Zone from them. The songs I did like were CLOSE, Perplexing Pegasus and Powerglide.

Swaecation- Swae Lee

Swae Lee from Rae Sremmurd released his solo album the same night as SR3MM and it was also a disappointment although there were some songs I did like which included: Heartbreak in Encino Hills, Heat Of The Moment and, Guatemala. These 3 songs weren’t like the Rae Sremmurd I enjoy but I can’t lie they were catchy. All in all I’m very upset with the 3 new Rae Sremmurd albums and hope they change back to the young Rae Sremmurd.

This Is America- Childish Gambino

I already have a review on this song here is the link.

BEWARE THE BOOK OF ELI- Ski Mask The Slump God

XXXTentacion is easily one of my favorite rappers of all time so him beefing with Ski Mask hurts because I love Ski Mask. This project Ski Mask dropped ‘BEWARE THE BOOK OF ELI’ was a good one I still don’t understand the title because Ski Mask’s real name is Stokeley Goulbourne. Otherwise it was amazing and the tracks I enjoyed were: LOST SOULS, THROWAWAY, COOLEST MONKEY IN THE JUNGLE, CHILD’S PLAY, DAPPER DAN and, BUKKAKE.

Lift Yourself- Kanye West

Yeah this song is ass! Yeah this song is hot garbage! Yeah this song is not Kanye! But this song is so catchy and Kanye’s poop part actually isn’t as bad as you think it is. Yeah it’s horrible but it’s not as bad as people are saying it is. I hated it at first but after listening to it so many times showing my friends and grilling it, it caught on and I actually like it!

Juveniles- Wifisfuneral ft. YBN Nahmir

I was not super familiar with any Wifisfuneral songs but I knew of him. I saw this song on Worldstar and saw them YBN Nahmir was featured so I listened to it. I loved Wifisfuneral part and happy to say I found a new young rapper I enjoy. YBN Nahmir killed it and he just flowed amazing with this sick beat.

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!