Photo by jarbas prado from Pexels

💯 STORY CHALLENGE

Season Of The Witch

4 of 💯Her serpent gave her ambition and strength…

Microcosm
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2022

--

Sabrina’s scales glided along my cheek, the world thought me strange, saw her and recoiled in fear, but the feeling of her shimmering body calmed me.

Collected me into straight thought, re-railed my thoughts.

Sabrina, my familiar, my wise peaceful partner in this eternal magic of life.

I didn’t, couldn’t live without her on me, she masqueraded as a necklace or bracelet when the time was wrong. When mortals gaped at her soft-bellied presence.

She’d only hurt to protect, no simple onlooker would be touched. Unless they made the wrong move…

I wasn’t a recluse by typical standards but found I’d get more energy being with Sabrina than with any other species…

Her love gave me the strength to fight my mind falling into a ditch, the strength for saving mortals, from themselves mostly.

Her gorgeous slither against my skin was the source of all power, without her I’d be a wayward witch of the night, probably aimless and weak. Her soothing whispers came to me at 13-years-old, before she went without a syllable.

Now, she only spoke to me when needed and really didn’t need to, I could read her subtlety, read her language of ambition and encouragement.

She existed to save the mortals from the disgusting fates. Fates like natural disaster, extreme poverty, crimes against children, women, we fought for justice day and night, we save desired nothing but freedom for the weak.

Sabrina was fated, destined to make me the saviour of the people, together we would live forever so why not use the endless life to better the lives of the poor souls. Or strength didn’t sleep, we couldn’t sleep with the pain in the universe.

Each day presented a new disaster, a new injustice to be fought.

Together Sabrina and I were heroes for the people.

Living only to serve. We loved every second of our witchy essence, our magical strength was made for others.

Prompted by Christine Graves ‘A Word-A-Day’ for March! :D

#2 word: Season, My Musical Inspiration:

🌙 Hi… I’m Isla. I’m new here… I write fiction, enjoy moon gazing and, manifesting the life of my imagining🌙

Liked this? Stalk my Stories better by subscribing…Or Please Stop by and say hi! I’d love to chat →

--

--

Microcosm
Writer for

Fiction Writer 🌙 Manifester 🌙 | Swimmer | Gamer | Occasional Poet and Courage collector ;)