Elevating Power BI Reports with HTML & CSS: Joining Forces 💪

In It to Win It 🤠: Part 2 of Participating in the FP20 Analytics Challenge on Data-Driven Education Management

Isabelle Bittar
Microsoft Power BI

--

Report in Progress By Isabelle Bittar for KI Data Science

🎁PBIX file available for download at the end of this article!

Introduction

HTML (HyperText Markup Language) is the standard programming language used to create and design web pages. Combined with CSS (Cascading Style Sheets), which allows for extensive styling and layout adjustments, these two languages enable the design of virtually any type of web interface.

While I’m not an expert in HTML/CSS, I’ve been increasingly using them into parts of my Power BI reports to enhance visual appeal through customized shapes, icons, and more. This has also helped me simplify or reduce the number of shapes and measures used in reports for a cleaner look. Many of you may have already noticed in my PBIX files shared across previous articles, I often leverage the HTML Content visual that allows us to merge the capabilities of Power BI with the versatility of HTML/CSS 💪.

Following my last article “How to Design Attractive Power BI Reports” for the FP20 Analytics Challenge on Data-Driven Education Management, I’ll demonstrate a few simple ways I utilized the HTML…

--

--

Isabelle Bittar
Microsoft Power BI

Isabelle is a Montreal-based business consultant specialized in data science.