16 Items I Stopped Buying in Pursuit of a Simple and Sustainable Life

And saved thousands of dollars in the process.

Charlie Brown
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by TANYA LAYKO on Unsplash

There is no prescribed list of items you should (or should not) own in order to live a simple life.

Having said that, sometimes it’s useful to peek into other people’s lives to see what they thought was worth keeping and what wasn’t.

My motivation for simple living largely comes from a desire to live more quietly, sustainably, and with more money in my back pocket. Jettisoning these 16 items and experiences helps me nudge towards those goals every single day.

A bigger abode

I live a child-free life with my husband so a one-bed place is all we need right now. It helps that I love small spaces which can be just as beautiful as large ones, if not more so. We also refuse to play Climb The House Ladder (however much everyone around us wishes we did).

As such, we keep our outgoings low and our contentment high.

Technology upgrades

I bought my television back in 2009. My phone is 5 years old. My laptop is 10. It breaks? It gets replaced. It still works? It stays. That’s the rule.

Stationery

--

--

Charlie Brown
Mind Cafe

Writer of opinions. Wine & food pro. Editor of Rooted, a boostable Medium food & drink pub. Niche-avoidant. Also at thesaucemag.substack.com