True Paranormal Stories: The Haunting of the Mill Worker’s Cottage

AKA: John French
MissingDimension.Club
2 min readJul 3, 2024

Growing up, I lived in a row of ancient cottages that had once housed mill workers. These homes, nearly 200 years old, bore witness to countless stories, but none as chilling as the one involving our next-door neighbor.

I first encountered this neighbor when I was about three years old. My reaction was immediate and intense — I screamed uncontrollably. Even at that young age, my intuition warned me that something was terribly wrong with him. He had a daughter, a kind girl five years older than me, who seemed mentally unwell.

At eight years old, I had another unsettling encounter. While changing in a booth at the local public pool, I noticed long, red lines on her back, like burn marks. She offered no explanation, and I didn’t press the matter.

A year later, I experienced something that would haunt me forever. One night, I was abruptly awakened by a noise. Groggily, I put on my glasses and saw the neighbor walking across my bedroom. He turned to me with a menacing glare before inexplicably walking through the wall. Terrified, I screamed.

The next day, after school, I returned to find a party in full swing at the neighbor’s house. Curious, I approached his daughter, who revealed that her father had passed away the previous night. With a smile, she added chillingly, “He won’t be able to harm me with a hot poker anymore.”

The revelation sent shivers down my spine. The ghostly encounter, the unexplained burn marks, and the neighbor’s sinister presence all painted a picture of a man whose malevolence extended beyond death. The old mill worker’s cottage, with its creaky floors and shadowed corners, held secrets that I would never fully understand, leaving me with an unease that lingered long after we moved away.

Note: This isn’t my story. I find true stories from comments all over the internet and rewrite them for clarity changing as little as possible. I am looking for patterns in paranormal encounters.

Before you leave

  1. Did you know the clap counter goes up to 50?
  2. Check out my work on:
    Twin Flames
    Past Life Regressions
    Human Design

--

--