#Team TechX

Jessica Zhu
TechX
Published in
6 min readJul 29, 2018

Hey there!

I’m Jessica, this year’s Associate Director (aka Vice President) for TechX, an MIT student organization that aims to empower students through technology. We put on multiple high-impact, high-energy events every year, ranging from hackathons to career fairs. Check out our website to learn more!

In total, TechX is composed of 9 committees: 5 external (HackMIT, xFair, MakeMIT, ProjX, THINK), and 4 internal (DevOps, Marketing, Finance, and Internal Relations). Each committee is headed by an amazing director, in charge of supporting and leading the team. Together, they make up TechX’s Exec team. Keep reading to get to know everyone a bit better!

Ramya Nagarajan

Managing Director

Hi friends!! I’m Ramya, a rising junior from the Bay Area majoring in 6–2(?) who is also returning for another year of TechX! (Get hype!!). I love running, finding new music, and hanging out with friends. Catch me in SF eating my weight in high quality Asian food this summer!

Jessica Zhu

Associate Director

Hey! It’s J ‘Ayy’ D, returning for yet another year filled with fun and exciting TechX events. I can’t wait to see all the amazing things we have in store come to life as we work together to create a huge impact on our community. Numbers-wise, I’m a 6–3, 2020, 5’2’’ human , and 95014 resident (bae ❤ area). Catch me playing tractor in my C5 suite or scurrying around campus with my yellow hydro. Stop me anytime and say hi!

Michael Silver

HackMIT Director

Hi I’m Michael, and I’m Co-Directing HackMIT 2018 with Jessica Sun! I’m a rising 6–3 Junior, and this summer I’ve been living in a hacker house and working on my own startup ideas. When I’m not working, I spend my time cooking, meeting with people, and exploring San Francisco. And of course, working with the team to make HackMIT 2018 the best it’s ever been!

Jessica Sun

HackMIT Director

Hi! I’m Jessica, and I’m co-directing HackMIT 2018 with Michael! I’m a rising 6–3 sophomore from St. Louis, Missouri (Go Cards!) who loves traveling, hiking, and baking birthday cakes. You can usually find me grabbing boba with friends or dancing to Young the Giant. I’m super excited for TechX this year and can’t wait to make more memories at MIT this fall!

Savannah En

xFair Director

Hello! My name is Savannah and I’m xFair Logs director! I’m a rising course 18 sophomore, Boston native, and I love playing around with my camera and reading new books (currently reading This Blinding Absence of Light). My summer will be spent exploring Jerusalem and consuming a very large quantity of hummus. Excited for xFair 2019 and year two at MIT!

Amy Kim

xFair Director

Hi everyone! I’m Amy, and I’m going to be the xFair Corporate Relations director this year! I’m going to be starting my sophomore year as a 6–14 major this fall, and I’m a proud Canadian (originally from Toronto). Catch me trying to pet as many dogs as possible this summer in SF, and getting ready to make xFair 2019 amazing!

Albert Yue

MakeMIT Director

Hi guys! I’m Albert, a rising sophomore from Massachusetts, studying math and CS, and am this year’s director of MakeMIT! In my free time, I enjoy playing video games, reading manga, playing poker, and trying to dance. This summer, catch me in Chicago eating lots of food and exploring the city. Super excited for another year of MakeMIT and TechX!

Rachel Groberman

ProjX Director

Hellooo. I’m Rachel and I’m director of ProjX this year! This summer you can catch me in LA augmenting realities and learning deeply at Disney. Outside of work, I love going on runs, listening to podcasts (if you need a recommendation….Gimlet Media is the best), and building random tech projects with friends. Super hype for another year with TechX and another year of supporting the amazing side projects of MIT students :D

Ethan Weber

SpecialX Director

Hey everyone, I’m Ethan! I’m from rural Wisconsin and a rising junior studying course 6–2. I love the outdoors, spontaneous activities, and most of all side projects. As someone who loves robotics, I’m spending my summer working on autonomous quadcopters in the Bay Area. I’m excited to contribute to TechX and the MIT community as SpecialX director.

Allan Garcia-Zych

THINK Director

Hi, I’m Allan, a rising sophomore from sunny San Diego double majoring in 6–2 and 8, and I’ll be directing THINK next year. Since you asked, I enjoy playing tennis poorly, watching documentaries, and traveling wherever and whenever I can. I’m excited to work with everyone in techx this upcoming year, especially those outside of my committee.

Anton Cao

DevOps Director

Hallo! My name is Anton, I’m a rising sophomore from the Bay Area majoring in 6–3, and I’ll be DevOps head this year for TechX! I’m incredibly excited to be working with all the other talented devs on the team to make our events this year run as smoothly as possible. Outside of CS, I also enjoy binge reading Naruto, watching psychological thrillers like Silence of the Lambs, and trying to dance.

Su Yang

Marketing Director

Hey, I’m Su! I’m a rising 6–3 junior directing the marketing committee, and I can’t wait to see all the different creative directions our events will go in this year. I love geometric designs, carbs, and color palettes, and Kombucha; find me in Seattle this summer eating seafood, pretending to enjoy coffee, and attempting to hike.

Ria Das

Finance Director

Hey! I’m Ria and I’m Finance Director a.k.a. finhead 🦈! I’m a rising sophomore originally from New Hampshire majoring in Course 18/6–3. I enjoy running/walking by the river, playing with my and all nearby dogs, and generally trying new things (highlights of ‘17-’18: ice hockey and escargot). This summer I’m enjoying Boston and Cambridge minus the ~psets~ and have found myself growing quite fond of Beantown. Excited for another year of TechX and MIT!

Neena Dugar

Internal Relations Director

Hello! My name is Neena and I’m a rising senior at MIT majoring in 6–2 and minoring in Literature. I’m from the UK and I love tea, origami, food (both cooking and eating), plants, and friends! I’m spending the summer in San Francisco, where I’m enjoying the good weather and time to explore. Looking forward to a great year for TechX!

Thanks for sticking through it all! Our team is beyond excited for what we can accomplish together with all of our amazing committees. But first, we can’t wait to get to know all of you a little bit better this upcoming school year! If you’re new to MIT (or us), make sure to stop by our booth at the Activities Midway — we’ll have plenty of free swag, free food, and good company :)

PS Check out last year’s Exec team here!

~ ❤ ❤ ❤ ~

--

--