B2b/Club Classics by Charli XCX | Single Review

Does Charli finally prove that she is a queen of electronic and future pop?

Yegor Mirnov
Modern Music Analysis
3 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Source: Spotify

Listen on SPOTIFY | APPLE MUSIC

About a month ago, Charli XCX released two new singles from her upcoming album Brat, which is coming out on June 7, 2024. On top of that, she’s already added the album as a pre-release, giving us a hint that we may get even more taste of the album before the release. This album is going to have 15 tracks, which is my perfect length of the LP, not too short, and not too long either.

Those 2 recent additions are “B2b” and “Club Classics”

At this point, Charli just keeps proving she’s a pro in the Electronic Genre, and she’s even leaning more toward future pop on those records. The tracks are also kind of Electro House which continues the lane of the previous track “Von Dutch”.

I’m digging the experimental vibe of the production. It takes me back to how I’m feeling now, which I reckon is her best effort yet.

Let’s get more into the sound aspect of both. With a bumpy sound like that, both tracks will make you tap your toes, especially “B2b” if you are more into futuristic sound. Don’t get me wrong, I still kind of like “Club Classics” and enjoy it too, although “B2b” shines for me much brighter.

On “B2b” Charli opens up about the ex situation in this track, questioning if it’s worth it coming back. But by the end, she’s in a different mindset. We see that the decision of not going “back to back” was the right one. Sonically, this track is phenomenal.

Charli delivers you the same level of energy you heard on her previous release “Von Dutch”, although this time she takes a more melancholic approach. Uptempo house beat helps deliver Charli’s message graciously. Futuristic sound effects and immersive transition to another part of the song make me positively biased towards the song.

To be honest with you, “B2b” may be even in my top 40 of the most well-structured and produced songs of this year.

FINAL RATING: 9.2/10 (AMAZING)

With “Club Classics” Charli is seen in a unique spot with a more ironic club beat and lyrical part of the song. I think in the album, this track would fit much better, however as a single joint, I don’t see myself returning that much to it. I appreciate the more experimental tone of synths here, however, it is not enough.

FINAL RATING: 7.8/10 (GREAT)

In summary, Brat is on its way, and I can’t wait to experience this electronic bomb. I have a good feeling about this, more than I did about the Crash.

P.S: Charli has announced that the new single is coming out on the 10 of May, so if you are interested in how Charli rollout will continue, leave a follow :)

Scores guideline:

0–2 (dramatically bad)

2.1–4.5 (bad)

4.6–6 (mediocre/mid)

6.1–6.9 (Ok)

7–7.5 (good)

7.6–8.6 (great)

8.7–9.9 (amazing)

10 (perfect)

--

--

Yegor Mirnov
Modern Music Analysis

25 k Views Writer | Writer for The Riff and Modern Music Publication | Niches: Music, Self-Help, Education, Student Life.