8 Tips From Respectful Parenting

Tips found in RIE parenting

Catherine Mancini
Modern Parent
Published in
7 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Photo by John-Mark Smith on Unsplash

Like most new parents, when I had my first child, truckloads of advice was given to me by well-meaning family, friends and strangers. More often than not, the advice was unsolicited and every new piece of information I heard contradicted the last.

However, the best advice for me was when a friend introduced me to RIE parenting. I thought it sounded interesting so I decided to research further. Before long, I was hooked.

I even found three books that shaped me as a parent and have been a continual point of reference. These books aren’t specific to RIE, but the philosophies outlined in all three are aligned.

What is RIE?

RIE stands for Resources for Infant Educarers. It was founded by Magda Gerber in 1978 and she coined term, ‘educarer’, with the idea that parents and guardians should give respect to all children from the moment they’re born.

According to the Magda Gerber website, ‘the basis of Magda’s Gerber’s RIE philosophy is respect for, and trust in the baby to be an initiator, an explorer, and a self-learner’.

I have come up with a list of rules that I personally like to follow, with some coming from Gerber and other coming from other sources. Here are my personal 8 tips to be a…

--

--

Catherine Mancini
Modern Parent

Australian teacher, photographer, writer, mum and friend. Support my artwork on Redbubble: https://www.redbubble.com/people/CatherineStar/shop?asc=u