“AM I DOING THIS RIGHT?” MODERN PARENT CONTEST

How Lockdown Exposed One Huge Flaw In My Parenting Game

Confessions of an introverted mom

Modern Parent
Published in
4 min readMay 7, 2021

--

Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

This post is an entry in Modern Parent’s “Am I Doing This Right?” writing contest.

It happened on a dark, dreary day. Ominous clouds filled the sky, adding uncertainty to the tension that was already in the air. A quiet unrest had been simmering and was about to erupt into chaos.

Well, maybe not quite. It was probably a day just like every other day, though that unrest was a common theme. I’m sure there was tension and uncertainty, too. We were all unsure and a little scared when everything shut down.

Lockdown brought a mix of emotions for everyone. Fear of what might happen, mental exhaustion from the constant stress, loneliness, and depression as everything was stripped away. Add the inevitable conflict that comes with being around the same people 24/7, and it’s a recipe for disaster.

This might be a problem

The thing is, outside of the emotions, lockdown didn’t change much for us. It became painfully obvious one day. One of my kids pointed it out, saying, “We never go anywhere, anyway.” We laughed about it, but it struck me. I, an introvert…

--

--

Modern Parent

If I felt more creative, I'd figure out a way to use up 160 words describing my life as a wife, mom, editor, and writer.