Word on the Street #1

August 2016 wrap-up.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
4 min readAug 30, 2016

--

Oh hey, look! Another new and regular Chapter series!

What a treat!

You know, for a long time I’ve wanted to use Word on the Street in something related to Modern Street Talk, but the opportunity has always alluded me.

That is, until today. Because I’ve shoehorned it in with no regard for if it makes total sense or not. Either way, it’s here and it’s here to stay.

At least for a little while.

Today’s Chapter, therefore, marks the first edition of Word on the Street, a monthly wrap-up for everything related to Modern Street Talk and its author: me.

That might end up being super boring, but let’s give this a go.

I’m always a bit wary of the month of August. It’s the month which, when over, kind of semi-signals the start of Autumn.

And I don’t like Autumn, because Autumn is the season where it slowly becomes less and less acceptable (and possible) to wear shorts.

So for me personally, the end of August is a sad time.

Or, at least it used to be, because the last few years have been odd. Instead of Summer weather in June and July, we get most of it at the back end of August and throughout September.

Something, something global warming.

What that does mean though, if we disregard the health of the entire planet for a minute, is that I can keep wearing shorts for a fair while longer yet.

As for August itself, this has been a seriously crazy month.

I started a new full-time job on the first and then moved in to a new flat with one of my best friends on the sixth.

MOVING IN DAY

Happy days to start the month.

Then I kept working and working and writing and writing. I met with two clients (separate to my NCC Group job) throughout August, and I’m excited for any future stuff I do with them.

Then I hit 100 days of daily blogging, and that was a big achievement.

Modern Street Talk has grown at a solid rate throughout August. I’ve shifted all of my social media postings over to the MST Facebook page, and kind of tried to update its Twitter profile; I have to admit I much prefer my personal Twitter account though.

But we’re making progress.

We’re moving up and up.

Ain’t no stopping us now.

Roll on September.

Thanks for reading Chapter 107!

If you love my stuff, please consider giving it a recommend by turning the little heart green.

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter+Instagram+ Snapchat (by scanning the Snapcode).

--

--