Dreams, Pendomus, and the Creative Urge

Carissa Andrews
Moments of Being
Published in
2 min readMay 28, 2016
Photo Credit: My crazy dream scribblings

You know those intense dreams you have after you wake up thinking you’re getting up any second because the baby’s awake, but instead, you end up falling back to sleep for a few minutes? Yet, somehow, those few minutes are just enough to cram an entire epic scene into your head?

I had one this morning that was so vivid and crazy, and packed with creative information I woke up knowing I had to write as much down as I could before it slipped out of my brain like sand.

In the dream, I was seeing the final battle for Pendomus through Runa’s eyes. It answered a few of the questions I've had about Runa and her abilities (because she exists without me, you know. ;) ), but the dream itself also introduced something new and terrifying. It was a new baddie — one that I didn’t see coming yet, but will be ridiculously cool. Yes, even my awake non-dreaming mind finds it wicked cool, so you know it was more of a message than just a dream.

I don’t know if this is an answer to my desire to get back into writing my novels, the fact I’ve been researching prophecies, or just some divine intervention to download new information into my creative drought of a brain. Either way, I’m grateful.

Unfortunately, the timing can’t be any more of a pain in the ass. I’m swamped with client work and getting to write in the Pendomus Chronicles wasn’t actually on my immediate to-do list. I know, it probably should be, but it wasn’t. Now, though, I can’t help but want to write this scene. I don’t know specifically where it will go yet in Book 3, or how I’ll blend it into what I already have going on, but dammit, I’ll make it work. Make no mistake about that.

Now, onward to translating my handwritten notes into a coherent scene. Wish me luck!

If you liked this post, please click the little heart and share the love. It does a lot to satisfy the inner child in any writer. ❤

You can learn more about Carissa on her website at: www.carissaandrews.com

Carissa Andrews is a Multipassionate MN Entrepreneur, Sci-fi Author, freelance writer, graphic designer and artist, unapologetic progressive, Lightworker, truthsayer, & occasional badass. Her YA science fiction novel Pendomus, is available now through Amazon. Though she’s often a headless chicken, occasionally, she has openings for freelance gigs. It never hurts to ask.

--

--

Carissa Andrews
Moments of Being

International Bestselling Author | CEO of Author Revolution | Host of the Author Revolution Podcast | Millionaire Author Coach