Happy Mother’s Day from MDHTTW!

Your weekly roundup from the editors of Moms Don’t Have Time to Write

The Editors
Moms Don’t Have Time to Write

Newsletter

3 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Your favorite editors are back with a special Mother’s Day edition of One Last Thing, the newsletter from Moms Don’t Have Time to Write, taking a look at the stories, columns, and advice from the week that was.

Better late than never! Zibby confesses she has waited until the last minute to buy a mother’s day gift, but have no fear: She made a round-up of some of her top picks that so many moms will love. Even if you’re still in a pinch, check out her list!

Second, Zibby has also penned a heartwarming letter for her children to read once she is no longer here. She implores them not to be sad or mourn her loss whenever that day comes, for she will always be with them, and they must celebrate the occasion. “Here’s what I want you to know, although you already do: I LOVE YOU. I love you so much that even though my body is gone from the earth, my love for you still swirls around in every gust of wind or blanket of fog or sunshine that warms your face.”

In this week’s grief column, Rachel Levy Lesser writes about how she has begun to notice her uncanny resemblance to her late mother. Although people have always made the comparison, Rachel hadn’t seen it until now and it has brought her a sense of comfort. “Now when people tell me that I look like my mom, I nod my head in agreement and tell them that I see it too. I see it each and every morning when I look at myself in the bathroom mirror. I miss her, and in so many ways I feel like I am her.

Liz Michalski takes us down her favorite walking path this week with stories about what she gained and what she’s lost on her journeys. As her kids grew up and the path itself began to change, Liz stopped walking. But soon, she rediscovered it — and herself: “Before me, there were no paths, just open space. A blank sheet of paper waiting for me to write out who I wished to become.”

Photo courtesy of Sagit Schwartz

A crazy experience while volunteering at her daughter’s field hockey game reminded Lindsey Salatka of all the reasons why parents should do everything in their power to avoid going insane over their childrens’ sports. “I intend to do better the next time I spectate or volunteer at one of my kids’ games, to be more mindful of the people who make their living as referees and coaches, and remember there are many lessons to learn from sports that aren’t related to winning.

Lindsey J. Palmer recounts her experiences returning to all of the homes she’s had in New York City. While her two previous visits resulted in epiphanies or closure, her most recent one in the middle of the pandemic left her feeling a little different: “A powerful wave of bittersweetness washed over me: I was a visitor here. This had been my home, and now it wasn’t. The city had moved on, and so had I.

In this week’s Friday Feature, Sagit Schwartz recalls all of the episodes from the Moms Don’t Have Time to Read Books podcast that have guided her journey to write her first book. After discovering the show during the pandemic, Sagit connected with Zibby: “Whenever I listened to Zibby, I felt grateful to witness her humanity in a world that at times can feel like it values it less and less.”

And finally, for those of you who need a touch of encouragement this weekend, read Joann Lublin’s advice in our Wake Up and Write column. Joann calls on advice from the great Virginia Woolf: “It’s especially important to have a room of your own. You have to have space where you can think. You have to have space where you can have quiet. You have to have space where you can work.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Warmly,

The Editors

--

--

The Editors
Moms Don’t Have Time to Write

News, interviews, advice, and commentary curated by the editors of Moms Don’t Have Time to Write.