Writing my own obit

Gérard Mclean
Monkey with a loaded typewriter
2 min readJun 11, 2016

--

I was struggling with how to go with writing my own obituary. When the idea was thrown out, it was at first exciting. Then it felt kinda weird, like the urge to giggle in church. At one point, I was going to just reject the premise and write something hokey that avoided the whole exercise altogether. In the end, I decided that I would play this one straight.

While it is not the whole me, parts of it are pretty darn close. Not close enough to get burned, but maybe enough to get a tan.

Rufus Dogg died today* and that’s ok.

He never wanted to live forever and always knew he would go to heaven because that is where all dogs go. But he wanted to “be” forever. To that end, he chose to write because words were the most creative material that survived all mediums. You could burn the book but the words endure. The battery in the Kindle may die, but the words endure. The memory may fade, but the words — passed on to a younger generation — would endure.

He ate ice cream in the snow, he drank coffee in the sun. He told the truth too eagerly to strangers to make friends and lied too easily to friends to keep peace. He wore the coat of a warrior and had the eyes of a lover. He barked fiercely but never bit anyone. And he was kind to cats.

He wrote what he felt and edited out what might hurt others. Sometimes he failed, but he always tried his best. While friends came and went, he kept each in his heart and in his words.

He finally learned to play the banjo well enough so other dogs would want to howl along.

There are always more words to write, but I think that’ll do.

*I’m not really dead. Keep reading…

This essay is part of a bloging series with a group of bloggers, each exploring a theme from his/her world view. The challenge was to write your own obit. The version that appeared on the blog is posted here. The version that appears in my book, Monkey with a loaded typewriter, almost true stories, has been tighened up by my editor. You should buy the book.

--

--

Gérard Mclean
Monkey with a loaded typewriter

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.