The Misplaced —Born In The Wrong Place

For those who feel like you were born in the wrong place.

Rozel Chang
Monster Alley

--

Photo by Nijwam Swargiary on Unsplash

Disclaimer:
This essay is not in any way, shape, or form promoting pedophilia, underage drinking, or any illegal actions against minors.
Trigger warnings include sexual assault and mental illness.
Please read at your own discretion.

Have you ever felt like you were born in the wrong place? A misplaced person, if you will. I have felt like that my whole life, and it wasn’t just me. Friends and family members have always told me the same thing for as long as I can remember.

I was born and raised in Taipei, Taiwan, in a semi-traditional family with no relatives abroad. No one ever left Taiwan other than for some short holidays to nearby countries. I grew up not knowing anything about what was outside of this little island. I only learned the basics of English after kindergarten, and back then, I wasn’t interested in learning another language at all.

Everything changed when I started obsessing over the Disney channel, especially the movies. My small square screen was the window looking out to the world that I never got to experience, and it opened up a whole new world for me.

The American education system was different from ours. No one seemed to be studying; they were far too busy…

--

--

Rozel Chang
Monster Alley

Freelance writer/translator. Taiwanese. I write about all the crazy stories that happened in my 24 years on Earth. Open to gigs: changrozel@gmail.com