‘Cheer up buttercup’ and other sayings to brighten your day

Tisha Hammond
Motivate the Mind
Published in
3 min readDec 1, 2021

Today’s forecast is sunny with a chance of greatness.

Photo by Autumn Goodman on Unsplash

It’s just before 8:00 a.m. Eastern, the breakfast of corned beef hash and turkey sausage is cooking on the stovetop. To my dismay, someone I love has eaten the last egg and didn’t bother to add ‘eggs’ to the shopping list; and I have two choices now: 1) mope around because my plan for a complete breakfast is utterly destroyed; or 2) make a homemade Medicine Ball (Starbucks fans will understand) and write my way out of these feelings…after enjoying a slammin’ hot breakfast. #2 for the win. I mean, am I really gonna allow an egg to ruin an otherwise great morning. Hell-to-the-naw.

And this is me most days…choosing HAPPY. It takes daily practice to wear a smile and mean it everyday. Here are some of my favorite smiling-inducing quotes that you too can bring to mind if you spill milk, lose your eggs, or have an otherwise less-than-thrilling experience:

  1. Cheer up buttercup (this expresses the duality of being frail yet beautiful);
  2. Hello sunshine (a greeting appropriate for any time of day; a pleasant expression of surprise);
  3. I love you more (better than a tit-for-that for you really mean it);
  4. Yoda best (‘cuz who doesn’t love Baby Yoda); and
  5. Howdy-do; tell me what’s new (my mom and I have a special version of this one)

and if all of those fail to crack your mouth and cause a grin from ear-to-ear, then look at this dog smiling and tell me if that does it for you.

Photo by Jonathan Daniels on Unsplash

The record should reflect that I have a reputation for community building and I can generally appreciate this push toward Medium Membership that we are in the throws of.

Please follow https://tishahammond.medium.com/ for good reads

As of this writing, I have 102 followers and smile for making that first milestone here on Medium. If we’re not already connected here on Medium, I’d like to help you reach 100+ too. I’m pretty great at following back. Most of my writings are spirited and uplifting, until they are not…hey I’m human too.

One of the nicknames that I can share publicly is ‘The Small Business Cheerleader.”

So, cheers to all of the readers here,

please enjoy my most recent article here on Medium until the next time. It’s about my Broadway addiction. Did you spot my Hamilton reference in today’s story?

Be blessed and be encouraged. Please smile. You never know who needs it more than you do.

For more spirited, uplifting content from The Small Business Cheerleader, please visit bit.ly/3E3ZPLy

Serving up done-for-you press releases and other cool media products for your content library. Follow on IG @accesspassmedia and @careermastered

--

--

Tisha Hammond
Motivate the Mind

Storytelling with a pen and keyboard since 2015. Getting the media to mention you at AscentMediaPro.net