The Irishman (2019)

It is not too long.

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2020

--

The Irishman movie poster

I’m not one for long movies. I am easily distracted, and my mind tends to wander if there’s not enough going on for me to be truly entertained and engaged in the story. And, while I was incredibly thrilled for The Irishman, Martin Scorsese’s latest creation, I was a little nervous about the three-and-a-half-hour run time. I had struggled with the length of Avengers: Endgame, so I didn’t know if I would be enraptured for the full length of The Irishman.

I shouldn’t have doubted Scorsese.

Shockingly enough, The Irishman is not too long. It’s captivating and riveting and kept me entertained the entire time. It’s clearly an expression of a master diligently working his craft.

What made this film great for me was the fact that Scorsese knew what I needed and the questions I had before I did. Every time I would start to drift off, as I am prone to do, especially when streaming a movie at home, Scorsese was able to bring me back.

During one of these moments, Frank was having a conversation with someone who wanted to hire him to do some house painting. But the music was all wrong for that scene — it was bright and rapid and, honestly, I had to pause the movie for a moment because I thought my neighbors were playing something so loud that it was drowning out the audio for the film…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.