An easy way to get more steps and 3 tips to cut pizza calories in half

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker
Published in
3 min readOct 25, 2017

Sup trackers,

It’s almost the end of October and today is officially the first cool day of the “fall” here in Florida. This morning, the temp dipped into the 50s and currently, the weather is sensational. It’s 68, clear, and sunny.

I never really appreciated cool weather because I’ve always been a hot weather kind of guy. But today, I’m really enjoying it. Another thing I never appreciated in the past was getting a decent number of steps each day. That has also changed as you’ll see in my first featured post.

Here are a few specific, actionable takeaways from my recent posts that you might find useful:

Stepping up my… step game

Last year, I was averaging between 5,000 and 6,500 steps per day depending on the month, which wasn’t terrible. But I knew I could do much better.

Holding myself accountable to my new step goal this year, I’ve averaged over 8,000 steps per day every month so far but one.

The one simple change I’ve made to get from 6,000 steps per day to 8,500 is taking two 15-minute walk breaks at work: one in the morning and one in the afternoon.

During these walks, I listen to audiobooks so an added bonus is that I’ve consumed more books this year than I have during any other year in my life.

Read my full post on step goals and habit stacking below:

1*ovftfcia8xmzevf3a xb4g

Step goals and habit stacking — Mr. Health Tracker — Mediummedium.com

How to cut your pizza calories in half

I went from eating over 1,500 calories at Papa John’s to under 800. Here’s how:

1) Ditch the fatty meats like pepperoni and sausage and opt for leaner meats like grilled chicken and Canadian bacon and you’ll save yourself more calories than you’d think.

2) Do you really need that 4th slice? I used to eat 4 or sometimes 5 slices of large pizza just because I could. Now, I find 3 large slices is more than enough to satisfy me. If I’m not as hungry, I’ll just eat 2.

Pro tip: buy a cheap pizza wheel on Amazon and cut each large slice in half. Then, eating 3 slices kind of feels like you’re eating 6.

3) Papa John’s offers a “lighter cheese” option, which saves about 40 calories per slice. If you’re eating a few slices, that adds up. And it still tastes delicious.

Check out my Instagram post and if you found it helpful, please share!

Have your pizza and eat it too.

Weekly health score: 99%

Last, but not least, here are my health stats for last week. I followed up last week’s record-high score with another solid performance.

Almost perfect.

That’s all for this issue of the newsletter. Feel free to hit reply with any questions or comments.

Also, please forward this to someone you know who would benefit from it or share using the social buttons below!

Until next time, keep tracking!

MHT

More goodies:

--

--

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker

Number crunching my way to better health. Follow my journey for daily stats, tips, and motivation. https://www.instagram.com/mrhealthtracker/