True or False: Multi-tasking is Closely Related to Adaptability

Carmen Ruan
Multi-task Basics
Published in
2 min readSep 26, 2017

Multi-tasking refers to the ability in which a person or machines can perform more than one task at a time. It popularized back in the 1990s as globalization takes over in order for people to balance work and their personal life since workload has increased overtime. Adaptability on the other hand, is also another important office soft skill. It explains a phenomena where people take up effective changes upon themselves in response to altered situations and new working environments. These incurred changes requires the individual to first realize their need to change in order to adjust.

Carmen Tang wrote in her blog that “someone who accepts and embraces the changes around them are conventionally the ones that put their trust on new ideas or disagree with recurrent strategies.” (2017) She believes that being able to adapt well gives one the ability to stay positive, be calm and come up with better solutions for work. All in all, Carmen believes that adaptation skills in an office setting allows people to stay motivated and work better.

I agree with Carmen that adaptability skills can affect ones’ ability to work. Theres a close relation between adaptability skills and multi-tasking skills. When we multi-task, we also need to make proper judgement on what to focus on and change in order to work effectively. This is also an important aspect in adaptability. We need to recognize the problem in order to find changes for the new environment we work in. When people work in an office, they often times have to adapt to a busy environment especially for customer service hotlines. At these times, they would have to take care of customers, update databases and also communicating with other departments. This work environment would be enhanced with better adaptability and multi-tasking skills.

Source: Carmen T. (2017, September 25). Do You Embrace Change? Retrieved from https://medium.com/@ctang24/do-you-embrace-change-d7da4b22f0ba

In working on my multi-tasking skills, I try to focus my attention span evenly and not only concentrate at one thing at a time. When I do homework, I would split my screen in half to watch TV, and write my essays at the same time. Adding on to that, I would also do research and text my friends all at once. Although it sounds very hectic, I feel that the more I do this, I can utilize my time better. I don’t have to stop writing my essay when I watch TV nor do I need to pause the TV in order to write. Talking to my friends is also easier since I am using my laptop to do all this at once. Devices are great tools that can help us in working on our multi-tasking skills.

--

--