How a Mexican Person Gets Across the US Border

Taking a 6-hour bus ride to see my boyfriend.

Gaby Rogut
Musing About…

--

Enjoying traditional American cuisine. Photo by Hogan Torah

A little bit over a year ago, I started a relationship with a man who lives in the USA, in Los Angeles, to be more specific. You know him as Hogan Torah. Many people live there, so that would be an unimportant detail except for the fact that I live in Mexico.

On paper, my little Mexican border town is only 4 hours away, provided the traffic isn't that heavy, but due to the whole Mexico-USA border thing, spending time with my boyfriend is not as simple as jumping into my car.

First of all, I don't even have a car anymore. It suffered a most undignified death last year, so nowadays, I move around thanks to Uber and my city's inefficient public transport system. Therefore, my only option to travel to LA is none other than Greyhound and its 6-hour trip to the town formerly known as Nuestra Señora de los Angeles de la Porciúncula.

But hold your buses because, in reality, the preparations begin a few days before the actual trip.

Taking Care of Some Formalities

As a Mexican person, I have a tourist visa that allows me to travel into the USA as far as 25 miles. So, in order to make it to LA, I have to get an additional permit.

--

--

Gaby Rogut
Musing About…

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions