Exercise: Visual Note-Taking

Hey, this is an exercise from my UX/UI Design Bootcamp Prework. Here you can see the rest of my projects. Want to know more about me? Click here 🙌🏽 .

Patricia Pérez
My Ironhack’s Journey
2 min readAug 1, 2017

--

In this exercise, I will try out the Sketchnote technique in order to make my sketch skills more natural.

WTF is Sketchnote?

Sketchnote allows to capture your thoughts, what you are listening and seeing, visually and helps you to remember information easily and clearly.

The idea is to take notes in real time focusing on the main ideas and deciding what information is worth capturing.

The sketchnote technique is deeply explained by Mike Rohde on his book “The Sketchnote Handbook”.

For this exercise, I’m going to watch the TED talk “How Giant Websites Design For Youby Margaret Gould Stewart (Facebook’s director of product design) and take visual notes of it.

My sketchnotes after watching the talk are:

Personally, I’m impressed with the result. The technique makes me feel relax and helps me focus on the talk. I think sketchnoting allows you to translate dynamically the main ideas into bits of information, which are easily recalled just by looking back at the notes you’ve taken.

It’s a funny way to take notes although you do not have a special drawing or sketching skills. I definitely recommend to try it.

That’s all for now,

see you real soon.

--

--