Inspired by Fluent Design: Vol. 3

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2017

Carrying on from my previous articles about some of the great work that has been inspired by Microsoft’s new Fluent Design Language I have some more to share with you.

Inspired by Fluent Design: Vol. 1 | Vol. 2

Acrylic Spotify by Sebastian Stapelfeldt

From Dribbble.

This is not too dissimilar to the direction that Groove Music is heading in with the new Fluent elements that it has. The different colour overlays add clear distinctions between the different areas of the app despite it nearly all being transparent.

Whilst Spotify is coming to the Windows Store I sadly doubt we will see anything this beautiful, I think it will be exactly the same as the current apps’ UI.

Fluent Motion Music by Leo Leung

From Dribbble.

Another music app but this time one that looks very different from Groove. This animation demonstrates Fluent’s animation improvements that makes transitioning from one screen to another far more seamless. The effect is that the context is maintained between screens and I have to say that looking at this transition I really want to see this on more apps.

Adobe Splash Screens by Adrien Etaix

From Behance.

These show a slightly different implementation of Fluent, instead of being in an app the design could be applied to an app’s splash screen too. I think these look very elegant and I hope we see Adobe make use of the Fluent aesthetics in their apps.

--

--

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life

Windows Insider MVP (MVP since 2012) | Lead Web Dev based in Camden, London