My Movie-Watching Stats for 2017

A slight downturn from 2016, but still eye-bleeding numbers

Evan Rindler
My Movie Life
3 min readJan 3, 2018

--

Stats!

Following my Best and Worst of 2017 movie lists, I thought I’d crunch the numbers on my viewing statistics for the year. Here are some observations:

I watched a movie on 205 occasions in 2017. That averages to .56 films a day. It’s in the ballpark of 21,000 minutes.

My viewing is down 19% from 253(!) movies in 2016. I don’t feel too bad about that. It’s good to see sunlight.

132 of the movies were viewed in a theater. I once again attended a film festival, which helped bolster that number and my total.

35 movies on my list I had seen at least once before in my life. In a few cases, I viewed films more than once, so their first and second times were both in 2017. For example, I saw Star Wars 8 on opening day and the next day, ’cause I’m a nerd. The second viewing counts as one of the ‘35’ films I revisited, alongside an annual re-watch of Superbad.

This leaves 38 movies that I watched at home which I had never seen before. That averages to .73 older films a week.

I took a few minutes to rate all of the 2017 movies I saw. Based on that cursory run-thru, my average score is 6.5/10, my median is 7/10 and my mode is actually 8/10. 2017 was an overall pleasing year for movies.

I gave 13 individual films a 1/10 and a mere 7 individual films 10/10.

Here is a list of the films I watched in chronological order and those ratings. An asterisk denotes films that I had already seen.

--

--