My Heart Restored- Part One Book Review

Stephanie Wayfarer
My Personal Bubble
Published in
7 min readMar 21, 2021

My personal book review a wonderful book for Christians

I purchased My Heart Restored by June Kimmel on Amazon, after a friend recommended it. Here I have written the personal lessons I gleaned from this book. You may find different conclusions if you read this book. I recommend it- it’s an easy read!

Chapter One A Time to Reflect…

This chapter made me think about a few things. To me, a heart that needs to be restored is a heart that is depressed and anxious. Someone who snaps a lot, or doesn’t want to get out of bed. Someone who doesn’t have interest in different things.

Events that have left me weary in my own life, as well as the community I’m sure, is the pandemic. I work in an ER, which is already draining. Add on top of that added stress of the pandemic coupled with social isolation, and I am burned out. My opinion of humanity on the whole has taken a decline. I need encouragement for sure! Even my body has taken a hit since I quit going to the gym, which is very discouraging as well.

Personally, when I become overwhelmed I respond by doing MORE things which is crazy. It must be some way to regain control, in my mind. I get more involved with art projects, or spring cleaning. Sometimes it helps, sometimes I feel like I’m slipping. The author asks us to consider what Jesus endured. I cannot imagine not only being nailed to the cross, but knowing AHEAD of time it would happen. I cannot imagine the physical pain, nor the anxiety.

I feel that I was closer to the Lord years ago, when I had less “stuff” in my life to do. Life was simpler and I could just accept each day one day at a time. Now I wonder what the days ahead will bring, and feel this nagging need to be constantly doing something. The best way I have adjusted, to spent time with the Lord, is by listening to my church’s sermons while knitting in the middle of the night, after everyone is asleep. It has been nice though to sit outside today in my rocking chair and read this book. My heart needs to be restored by learning to relax and just take life one day at a time, and to be in the moment again.

Chapter Two My Heart Revealed

I give God my own excuses, just like anyone else. I let the cares of the things I need to do get in the way of doing my Bible study. I need to manage my time better. It is VERY hard for my life and my mind to be quiet. However, without some quiet stillness, it’s hard to hear God. My mind is always, ALWAYS chewing on something. I need to learn to relax. Even in church I do not sit still- I literally type the notes on my phone, as the pastor is speaking.

As far as enemies, I really don’t feel as though I have any. However, after working in EMS, I do feel there is a lot of ugliness in the world and that anyone is capable of creating some sort of hurt in themselves or another person.

Like Martha I often get burdened with responsibilities, but I can simplify. Not all things always need attention, not all things actually need to be done, and some things can be simplified. Why cook dinner if I can just throw something in a crockpot?

God understands more than we can fathom and never grows weary. He gives us strength when we need it. For me, I think starting my day by reading even just one chapter would do me a world of good. And not turning everything into a project. I can relate to feeling alone like Elijah because I do not always open up, or reach out, and during this pandemic I am not physically attending church. I feel afraid like David because I have anxiety about the future and of debilitating illness or injury.

My fellowship with God is broken because I struggle to rest. I need encouragement like Moses because I am not confident when I should be. I am overwhelmed like Martha because I give myself too many things to do.

Chapter Three My Heart Refocused

In Psalm 69:1–5 David uses water imagery to describe how he feels. Water is deep, and powerful; David must have felt like he was drowning in his troubles. David states in this passage that he is undeserving of the hate from his numerous enemies. He compares the amount of enemies he has to the number of hairs on his head. He also states that nothing is hid from God, including his own sin. I think his heart needed to be restored due to the overwhelming stress he was under. Stress takes a toll on every aspect of our health- mental, physical, emotional, spiritual. Later in this Psalm, David asks for God to hear him and to save him from drowning in his troubles.

I do not have the issues King David had, but I definitely have my own issues that take my focus from God. I worry too much about marketing my Etsy shop. I spend more time marketing than I do making my products and getting them listed. I listen to marketing podcasts, and read articles. The worst is social media. Figuring out what to post, when to post, how to be engaging. I have burned myself out and need a break from social media. These things I “have to do” take up much more mental space than they should.

When I face trouble in my life, I focus on what I can control, and try to deal with my problems. Otherwise, I clean my house, or work on my projects, or anything else I can control and distract my mind. I pray, but not as purposefully as I should. According to 1 Thessalonians 5:18, I need to be thankful always. God loves and cares for us always. We should turn to Jesus with our troubles.

David often praised God with song. I am terrible at praising God, but I am not sure why or how to get better at it. This chapter asks us to try, so here is my praise:

Dear Lord, I lift my cares to you and take comfort in knowing you hear me. I lay my anxiety at your feet and ask that you help me focus on righteous endeavors. I feel trapped in a hamster wheel of my own design, only going to work and back home. I need to be set free in my life from my own mind and my own cares. Hear me, O LORD, and make me better. Let me live a life with better purpose.

I am a sinner, and can never earn my salvation. I feel constantly reminded of my sin when I stumble. I think about how easy it is to trip up. I think my biggest sin is not honoring the Sabbath and taking rest. Remind me, Lord, that I cannot and do not need to earn my way into Heaven; Jesus paid my way.

Help me praise you. Let me be a righteous and humble example to others. Give me focus. Our earth is a great example of our relationship with you. The more time we spend in nature, the more I am reminded of your immense power and undeserved gifts you give freely. The more I spend time indoors the more I live in this man-made world that shuts you out. Let me praise you as wide as the sky and as deep as the oceans. I can never understand you fully, Lord, just as my mind cannot fathom the far away stars you made to shine. Amen.

Chapter Four My Heart Revealed

In Isaiah 55:10–13, God’s Word provides, just as the rain feeds the earth. The Word is also described as prosperous, joyful, and peaceful. God’s Word is capable of anything- providing for our needs, giving our hearts peace, and protecting us.

In Psalm 119:25–40, the Word provides understanding, and strength, to the psalmist. The Word is truth, and lawful. What I personally get from the Bible is truth and instruction. I do not always understand what I am reading. I don’t always know the context, or the Hebrew or Greek words that have extra meaning if you know the original word that was translated. I don’t know all of the stories. I do know that the Bible gives guidance on how to life life. I cannot presume to know what God wants to accomplish. Reading Isaiah 55:10–13 again, God seems to want to provide for us.

Personally, I need to trust in God to ease my anxiety of the future. I need to know that whatever comes my way, I am not alone, and he is stronger than me, or any problems that I may face. I want to serve the Lord, without getting praise for myself. I just don’t know how. I do not know how God can use me. Sometimes I wonder if my time will come years from now, and I try to be patient.

I do know I need to stop putting reading God’s Word on the back burner. I habitually only make time for my maker after all my other things are done.

--

--

Stephanie Wayfarer
My Personal Bubble

Stephanie is an artist and first responder. All stories are free to read! Subscribe for random honesty delivered to your email.