Plovdiv…Cultural Capital of Bulgaria

(Note: This is a republication of a blog I did for my 2018/2019 trip through Europe so some of the information may not be 100% accurate any longer.)

I had no expectations when I chose Plovdiv as my next stop in Bulgaria. In fact, I really only placed it on my list because one of my favorite wrestlers comes from there (I know don’t judge me you know I am a nerd! I love Professional wrestling or sports entertainment as it is now called!).

So with no expectations, you can imagine how surprised I was when this city became my favorite stop in Bulgaria. With its old town beauty and the arts district known as the Campana district, Plovdiv has a wonderful mixture of history and modern as well as an amazing art scene.

That combination is perfect for me as that’s kind of my soul's makeup, so let’s talk about all the amazing things to see and do in Plovdiv. But first a little insight on a really cool place to stay while roaming Plovdiv’s streets.

Accommodations… Funky Monkey Hostel

This hostel has a great vibe and is in a great location as well. On top of that, they include breakfast and that is a great help when you are trying to travel on a tight budget. I was super surprised by what they offered for breakfast and it was more than filling enough to last you the entire day.

The staff was helpful and as I said it is pretty centrally located and a great place to stay on that tight budget we talked about earlier. So now we have talked a little about where I laid my head let’s talk about the good stuff…things to do!

Things To Do…

There are so many things to do in Bulgaria’s cultural capital that I know I missed some stuff. On top of the theater and opera, there are several day trips you can do if you have enough time. Like everywhere else trying to save money I wasn’t able to do any day trips.

Some of my fellow hostel mates mentioned a couple of great places like Veliko Tarnovo and the Valley of the Roses. Both of these options are doable with just a short train or bus ride.

If day trips aren’t in your cards then there are museums and plenty more to do within the city limits of Plovdiv. I didn’t get to any of the museums but I did get to the theater, checked out a cool park, and roamed through the city streets of an amazing old town.

Now that we have kinda chatted about some alternative choices to what I got up to let’s chat about what I actually did while I was in Plovdiv…

Old Town…

Old Town is something you must make time to explore. Within its cobble-stoned streets, you find not only spectacular views and a Roman amphitheater but also tons of local craftsmen still selling their traditional wares. There are a couple of restaurants and if you want to stay closer to the old town even a hostel within its walls.

The thing that made me fall in love with this old town was the amazing views of the city from its crests. Just a short walk from where you enter is an amazing bluff with ruins and trees that look out over the city.

On a bright cloudless day, it makes for an amazing memory to take a packed lunch and sit on the ruins imagining what the people of the past would be doing down below the walled city. I would definitely allow yourself at least an hour or so to let your imagination roam through those ancient cobblestone streets.

Campana District…

I would be remiss if I didn’t tell you about the arts district known as the Campana district. Full of amazing street art and an eclectic variety of shops. If that’s not enough mixed in with the plethora of shops and art are little cafes and restaurants.

This area deserves your attention especially if you are an artist. There are guided tours through this region and if you want to get a good grasp on its history I say take one. However, if you are simply an art lover or an artist yourself find the Campana district and take a little time to stroll through it.

Free Walking Tour…

A new love of mine the free walking tour is a great way to get all the history and stories of a paid tour with a budget-friendly impact on your wallet. The free tour is a simple concept you go on the tour and if you enjoy yourself then you give what you can. Seems like a way better deal than paying for something you may wind up hating.

The free tour that I did was with the Plovdiv division of 365 Associates, the same company that ran the free tour I did in Sofia. The tour was chock full of wonderful history and my guide showed a clear passion for his city which is kind of contagious.

I can not suggest enough that as you get ready to make your itinerary for whatever city you are headed to you use that amazing travel buddy google and see what free tours are offered in the city. And I definitely would say if you are headed to Plovdiv hit up this free tour and get your barrings.

Roman Ruins…

So this city has two major Roman ruins that I visited. The ruins in the city center of the Roman amphitheater and the amphitheater in the old town. Both of these you get a chance to see on the free tour but it is worth your time to devote a few more minutes to each.

The ruins in the center of town are small and will take little to no time to go through, but there is a 3D movie you can view in the tourist center. So if you want to escape the outdoors and sit this might be a great way to get closer to the ruins. The Roman amphitheater that is in the old town still houses performances.

The ancient venue is home to not only opera performances and plays but modern music stars also grace its stages periodically. So if you have time and a little money to spare this may be a great way to experience how the Romans lived and enjoyed the entertainment. But the next entry is a must for theater lovers…

Puppet Theater…

So one of the funnest things that I did during my whole stay in Bulgaria was going to the theater (make sure to say that with your worst British accent…it makes it more fun!). The Puppet Theater in Plovdiv does an array of shows from children-friendly to more adult-themed plays. Though you may not speak Bulgarian I will assure you much like that Opera you have gone to or heard it will not matter.

The truth of performance is in the emotion and the players at the Puppet Theater have that down pat. The show that I went to was called The Queen of Spades and was absolutely magnificent.

As the name would suggest there was a puppet as a prop and the interaction of the cast with this piece was stunning. I can not recommend taking a night or even an afternoon out of your stay and partaking in this cultural gold mine.

So that was my stay in Plovdiv and how this amazing city became my favorite stop on my Bulgarian tour. I guess all that’s left is to say that until the next blog I wish you safe journeys…

If you guys dig the blog make sure to check out my YouTube channel and follow me on Instagram. That way you get the full 360-degree experience of my adventures.

Written By: Kim Miller (Freelance Writer & World Traveler) @penumbra1977

--

--

Kimberly Miller
My Shadow & Me: Life & Lessons of a Lost Girl

I am a creative freelancer with a passion for film and the written word.