MY THOUGHTS ABOUT: Doki Doki Literature Club Plus!

Something new comes out after 3 years…

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT
Published in
4 min readJun 12, 2021

--

Hey, Noah here. Damn, I did not expect to ever see this in my life, but that doesn’t mean I’m not gonna accept it. In fact, I love it so much. What am I talking about, you ask? It’s in the title and the picture!

Doki Doki Literature Club Plus! Three years after the original game came out, there’s finally new content! I certainly did not anticipate this at all, because I thought this game would just be what it is. I’m so stoked to see new things in here, so let’s go through everything new in this update.

Also, I’ve reviewed DDLC before, and you can read Part 1 and Part 2 respectively by clicking on the links.

Basic Info and Merchandise

First off, Doki Doki Literature Club Plus! contains new features and content, and it would be released on June 30 2021 on Windows, Nintendo Switch, Playstation 4, Playstation 5, Xbox One, and the Xbox Series X/S! It’s also on Steam and Epic Games Launcher, if you have any of those two platforms. Since I have Steam, you know I’m actually gonna download it.

There is also a premium physical edition for only Playstation 4/5 and Switch players. Not only do you get a physical copy, you also get standees of all the characters, a special membership card, a sticker sheet, a soundtrack download card (don’t know how that works), and even an exclusive special poem from Monika herself! For only 30 bucks, you can get all these! I really wish to buy this too, unfortunately I only have Xbox One and Windows. I really wanted to purchase this. Dan, if you’re reading this, send me a Xbox one my way and I’ll pay extra for that (XD).

Side Stories

Next section, we have this new content called Side Stories. Just like what it is named after, these are side stories set outside the timeline of the original game that show how the girls became the best of friends. There are six of them. I’m really looking forward to this, especially the close friendship between Yuri and Natsuki. I like that pairing a lot.

Art and Music

New art by lu_cid_sky_, SquChan, and VelinquenT on Twitter, as well as new music by variendarkgirl and Jason Heyes. 26 tracks on the soundtrack in the built-in music player! Damn, that’s actually cool! Now I can hear it in-game!

As for the art, there would be a feature named The Picture Gallery, which includes 100 unlockable pictures such as game art, wallpapers, never-seen-before sketches and more! I know as a DDLC fan, that you definitely have to find all of that through gameplay and secrets! That would be fun. Also, the original game got a HD upgrade, which is totally awesome!

Final Thoughts

I’m really looking forward to playing Doki Doki Literature Club Plus! and supporting Dan Salvato and his team. Doki Doki Literature Club, in my opinion, is still one of the best physiological horror visual novels I’ve ever played in my life. With all these new features and contents, I’m sure new people and fans alike will enjoy all of this new stuff coming at them! Thank you, Dan, for the new content in DDLC! I will play it as soon a week after it comes out, because I have exams on the week it’s out. Sad, but that’s life for you.

Also, I’ll definitely write a review on it definitely! I thought I would post my next one on October, but it looks like the tables have turned and the plan has changed. Anyways, this is Noah. Thank you for reading MY THOUGHTS ABOUT, and have a good day!

Here are the sites I use for reference:

Also, watch the trailer here:

Also, this is my 100th post here! Thank you for all the constant support!

--

--

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT

Reviewing movies, games and other stuff. I give casual opinions on things too and say what I hate out loud.