Neurodivergence and the Politics of Self-Control

ADHD, autism, twice exceptionality, and the benefits of intensity

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Living With Intensity

My son and I are intense. We’re passionate people. We feel profoundly, we experience deeply, and we get really excited about some things.

Sometimes we have difficulties with interrupting others, being excessively restless, making careless mistakes, or being disruptive to others. We don’t mean to, our brains just work on hyperdrive and it’s hard to reel these things in.

I remember as a child being told I was too loud, talked too much, and I remember being chastised for interrupting people. As an adult, I still get excited and my voice probably gets a bit loud. I still interrupt people occasionally too, but I am working on it.

I don’t do it to be rude, I get excited about the conversation, and my brain and body forge ahead before I have a chance to slow my roll.

Image created by author

Giftedness and over-excitability

My son and I are both twice-exceptional (2e), meaning we are gifted and have…

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.