Presentations

I didn’t know this secret

James D Kidiga
Never Stop Writing
2 min readApr 21, 2024

--

Photo by LinkedIn Sales Navigator on Pexels

Technology is expanding, rapidly. Just like I talked a little bit about it in my previous post.

I am a teacher, and somehow I have been exploring technology to improve my teaching skills for my students and fellow teachers as well.

There are some challenges that teachers face in developing countries, including inadequate teaching and learning resources and poor learning environments.

Teachers rarely use computers to project in the classrooms. Why?! Not enough or poor technology resources.

As among those very few educators who use technology, I came to realize that I have been wasting my time preparing my slides locally by using Microsoft PowerPoint.

I discovered a secret. However, some of you might have known it many years ago, you may wonder how come I came to know it very late 😁😁. Don't mind, it happens.

Everything now is simplified. There is Canva - an online platform that provides a visual suite for creating a wide range of designs, which also includes preparing beautiful and compelling slides.

Photo by Jovan Vasiljević on Pexels

To be honest, previously, I was visiting Canva but wasn't exploring it much. So, I didn't know if I could prepare slides from it. And I can say that, I didn't pay attention to slides because I taught my students locally using the blackboards, and very rarely by projectors.

For example, if I needed to prepare a presentation for workshops, I just used MS - PowerPoint (because I am also a coordinator for the teachers' association in my region, and I have been organizing some workshops).

After I came to realize the other way (Canva), it has become easier for me to design my presentations there.

This came after I was given a task in the virtual training that I attended. There was an assignment for every trainee to prepare a presentation. That's when I became serious about exploring the online realm - including Canva.

It is an easier and more interesting software. There are a lot of design choices, for free or paid. It's just for the user to decide. I like Canva and will regularly use it mostly.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

James D Kidiga
Never Stop Writing

An education professional and digital lad striving toward Career Growth, Innovation, Digital Literacy, Leadership, and Personal Development.