The L’Abri Journals #2

Vocation + Calling: How Do I Know What To Do?

If you’ve been wondering about how to find your calling, read on

Zane Fleming
New Creation
Published in
5 min readDec 10, 2022

--

English L’Abri — image credits

Earlier this year, I wrote about my upcoming English adventure to L’Abri Fellowship for the summer term, taking a break from work. I’m calling this series of articles the L’Abri Journals, articles inspired by impactful lectures I discovered in the lecture library while there. Vocation + Calling: How do I know what to do? is inspired by a lecture given by Andy Patton in 2017.

A Higher Purpose

If most of us are honest with ourselves, we’re probably thirsting for a higher purpose. We all cope with it differently, some maybe being bold and putting everything on the line to chase their dreams, others applying deeper meaning to the things and people in their lives, others still maybe avoiding the question entirely out of fear or hidden regrets.

As a Christ follower, this is just as pertinent for me, though as I’ve matured, I’ve learned to put less pressure on myself and on the whole question and focus more on walking with God day by day, instead of taking on the whole world with “victorious” hubris.

It’s amazing how much God cares about the very little details in your life, and the importance…

--

--

Zane Fleming
New Creation

Feeling overwhelmed? Find peace of mind with my new book Living, Simplified: https://amzn.to/38CBIce