Hurray! I’ve got myself 100 followers. Wait, now what?

Now I can join the infamous Medium Partner Program, or can I?

Yusuf Khan
New Writers Welcome
2 min readDec 7, 2021

--

Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

So after a lot of calling out in the wild, I finally got to the 100 followers mark. Yay! What an amazing feeling, right? Well yes and no, to be honest.

Let’s cut to the chase, we all want to get to the 100 followers to get into the coveted Medium Partner Program. So did I. But don’t get me wrong, I also wanted to make a great community of pillars who are connected with the common love for writing (As I mention in this article).

It would be so much better if we also get paid in the process. I mean who doesn’t want a nice side income, that too in this economy.

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

But as was trying to sign up for the MPP (Medium Partner Program), I reached the step where we need to select our country, just to find out that MPP is not available in India.

Photo by Sebastian Herrmann on Unsplash

Well I am not pointing fingers at who is responsible for this, but I just thought I put it out there. This might be useful for the Indian writers like myself who have no idea about this and trying hard to get to 100 followers just to get disappointed.

But does that mean I wont write on medium now? No way! I will write with all my heart regardless if it pays or not. I love doing this and I will also keep following whoever chooses to be my friend (yes friend and not follower).

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I may be missing something, there could be a way around. If there is please let me know in the responses. I hope this article is of some help to anyone who needs it. So as always, until next time, it’s me signing off.

PS: You can buy me a Ko-Fi if you like.

--

--

Yusuf Khan
New Writers Welcome

A writer, gamer, storyteller… but most importantly a dreamer!!!