You Were A Bad Friend

P.S. You didn’t even turn out to be a good person so ✌️

Chico Spears
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo of young woman taking a self-portrait and giving the peace sign.
Photo from Envato by nunezimage

I’ve always been generous with my time and energy. That being said, I’ve made changes over the last two years. Even so, people always show their true colors.

I often apologize for things I don’t need to. A lot of people don’t have it in them to accept blame. I take on the burden even if it’s not my place.

I recently agonized over a situation with a then-friend. Fortunately, I realized they were not who they depicted themselves to be. I let people off the hook a lot. But this time, I simply could not.

Letter to an old “friend”

I’ve known you for six years. Well, thought I did. The annoying part is it took one event. You gave me your attitude, and I didn’t appreciate the category you were putting me in, so I reacted with my own.

Now, I know the specific reason you got in your feelings. When I mentioned what I mentioned and why it was weird, you were making me the bad guy like you do so many.

I ignored the fact you immediately took me off apple workout and hid your story. I still talked to you, and even apologized (why I don’t know). You talked gently and understandingly. You said we’d work through it.

--

--

Chico Spears
New Writers Welcome

I’m a sentimental over-thinker who loves writing about the relationships we have with the random people, places and things that influence who we are.