NCiR’ Pilin’ On

Concession

A response to Joe Váradi’s translation, “Confession (Vallomás)”

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readMay 15, 2021

--

Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

Sir, your response I am pleased to receive
to the offer I thought we’d discussed.
I’m not sure we’re on the same page at this point.
Your double entendres have left me nonplussed.

Yes, I did write that I’d like to be friends.
I’ve heard you’re a man a woman can trust.
But if I am reading your letter correctly,
friends with benefits, for you, is a must.

If this is true, I will need to know more.
First of all, is my assessment unjust?
Please be forthright, there’s no right or wrong here.
My wide-open mind won’t react with disgust.

I’m happy I didn’t misjudge your intent,
but give me a minute so I can adjust.
Scrap buddy for booty, cute dress for clothes-less?
OK. I’ll do naked; so let’s speak of lust!

Just read a cookbook called Meals For The Bedroom.
Learned some obscene things we’ll try with piecrust.
Recipes good, but the pictures fantastic.
Each facing page…

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!