Fine, I’ll Date the Internet

A tongue-in-mouth poem on Internet Dating

Camille Fairbanks
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by Dimitri Karastelev on Unsplash

Friends say I should try internet dating
To which I reply, “Fine, no more debating,
I’ll date the internet.”

I see lots of reasons this time it could last
I can take it to bed with me, no questions asked
It stays the next morning

I don’t have to worry ‘bout its mental health
It’s never too shy or ashamed of itself
To share naked pictures

The internet is the best handyman
Shows how to build it, to fix it, to buy it, oh and
Only tells if I ASK

Entertaining? You bet! It is super funny
Cat vids and Dad jokes, it is right on the money
You know I stay laughing

And gossip? Oh yes it has got that in spades
I know all the secrets, celebs and their babes
But it never knows mine

The web never says that I’m insecure
Or too needy, annoying, or it just isn’t sure
And tries to break up with me

So friend, you are right - I will take your advice
I’ll try internet dating at least once or twice
I’ll date the internet

Thanks for reading! If you’d like to read more, check out “Relentless.”

--

--

Camille Fairbanks
No Crime in Rhymin’

I paint with words. My daytime canvas is K-12 digital curriculum. At night, poems. I try to share the beauty of authentic moments.