NCiR’ Pilin’ On

How To Get Away

Reacting to Acidwriter’s “Monster Under My Bed

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readSep 17, 2020

--

Image Source

It’s been a while since I gave thought
to gore and death that monster’s wrought.
Memories of being distraught
by doors ajar and clowns Mom bought.

The dark recesses in my room
hid monsters plotting this kid’s doom.
When I’m asleep, they’ll leave their tomb.
Their midnight snack’s me, I assume.

I used to think best stay in my bed
the covers pulled-up o’er my head,
better than going under the bed
where the monster hides to my dread.

But if the monster’s joining me,
I’ll not wait here, his face to see.
So he won’t know my plan to flee,
I’ll say “Excuse me, got to pee!”

©2020 HHThorpe. All rights reserved.

And now, Eminem with an assist from Rihanna sings “The Monster”:

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!