NCiR’ Pilin’ On

Naughty Nightmare

Inspired by Brian Relay’s poem, “A Daydream of Nightmares

Harper Thorpe
2 min readSep 28, 2020

--

Image Source

I much prefer daydreams
because I can’t sleep.
There’s no nighttime dreaming,
while I’m counting sheep.

I’d settle for nightmares,
just let me doze off.
Last night, almost made it,
then she start’d to cough.

I tried to sleep through it,
her cough turned to gag.
I asked, “Are you ok?”
She said, “Want to shag?”

I’m tired but not sleeping
and she’s wide awake.
Surprised, but more rare was
my wife on the make.

She wanted to try things
we’d not ever done.
Awake, now aroused, I
am up for some fun.

A pretzel position?
Of course, I agreed.
The first of her ideas?
Endurance, I’ll need.

Someone’s in our bedroom,
a third person’s here.
Seems she hasn’t noticed
Perhaps…

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!