NCiR’ Pilin’ On

Rancid Refer Repast

A prequel to Laura Sheridan’s National Clean Out Your Refrigerator Day

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readNov 17, 2020

--

Image Credit

The boss is coming over, dear.
The invitation wasn’t mine.
Afraid he’ll be here very soon.
He said, “Important that we dine.”

Couldn’t you have told me sooner,
I would have liked to order in.
No worries, I shopped late last year.
While I create, pour him a gin.

Hooters had been his suggestion,
We’re here because I knew you’d frown.
Think his plan is to promote me.
How ’bout you wear your low-cut gown?

You kidding me? I’ve work to do,
or neither of you gets a meal.
You earned your raise by working hard,
but my breasts aren’t part of the deal.

I hear him knocking at the door.
Whatever you serve will be great.
Forgot to mention, low cal’s best,
Said he’s trying to lose some weight.

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!