Hope Shivers in the Wind

A reflection on the song “Do You Hear What I Hear?”

Michael Murray
Nobody Left Out
2 min readDec 4, 2020

--

A child, a child
Shivers in the cold
Let us bring him silver and gold
Let us bring him silver and gold

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

You know, when it comes to Christmas music, I’m an “all things in moderation” kind of guy. I don’t mind it, but a little goes a long way. There’s only one Christmas song I can listen to on repeat because it puts me in a good mood no matter what time of the year it is.

But this month, I thought it’d be fun to look at the Christmas story through the lens of Christmas songs. And first up is “Do You Hear What I Hear?”

The song has an interesting story behind it that I wasn’t aware of. It was written during a very uncertain time, much like today. (And much like that first Christmas.)

I titled the article Hope Shivers in The Cold, and you can read it here.

I also wanted to remind you that you can still pre-order the Kindle version of my book Nobody Left Out: Jesus Meets the Messes for only 99 cents. It launches on Tuesday! The paperback version is also available now for $5.99.

I have felt so supported and encouraged with the release of this book. Thank you. This weekend, I will be holding a giveaway on my Instagram. I’m giving away a signed copy of my book along with a $25 Starbucks gift card. We can be honest… We’re all in it for the coffee, and I’m okay with that!

Keep an eye on my Instagram for more details, and have a great weekend!

- Michael

--

--

Michael Murray
Nobody Left Out

Just a broken, messy guy trying to follow Jesus one shaky step at a time. Get my free 5-day devotional here ➜ https://www.subscribepage.com/nobodyleftoutmedium.