PLAYLAND: New Dad, Le Feeling, friends and queer space

Michael A. Brodeur
New Dad
Published in
5 min readFeb 15, 2019

--

I’m excited about a bunch of New Dad shows that are coming up in March. I get to see old friends, play music, break in my chaps, sleep in, and eat real pizza. (Sorry Houston, you’ve got everything else)

But to me, the centerpiece to this trip back to New England will be a collaboration with my good friends of the Providence duo Le Feeling, who specialize in performing live scores to radical queer (and often censored) films.

New Dad rolls into Boston for a good-old fashioned dance set on March 24 at my favorite-ever gay bars in Boston (and its oldest continually operating one), Jacques’s Cabaret, which is near and dear to my hear for the way it fostered a unique idea of what it meant to be queer: You could see versions of Liza and Janet there one night, and descend to the basement for an afternoon of power noise the next day.

It’s still an amazing, spiritually charged and Brubaker-soaked space; and these days it’s home to DJ Brian Halligan’s continuation of Boston’s long tradition of tea dances, *sip*. That show is with another dear friend, DJ James Cerne. It’s just gonna be a big, tipsy, huggy, twirly lovefest, and a musical homage to Bay Village and the Theatre District’s rich 1990s club history. So come if you’re around.

--

--

Michael A. Brodeur
New Dad

I write about classical music for @washingtonpost and gym stuff @To_Failure. My first book, “SWOLE” is due out Fall 2022 from Beacon Press.