GSoC-2018 Summarised

Vaibhav Chellani
openapi-hydra-parser-gsoc2018
2 min readAug 14, 2018

Summer of 2018 will always be remembered because of amazing time i had working on my project Python Hydra .

I learnt a great deal of stuff apart from raw coding . I understood why and how code-design processes are important , how documentation is a must even if you don’t like doing it at the moment.

Overview of the project !

My task was to build a open api parser to convert open api documentation to hydra documentation so that users can easily migrate from open api to hydra . I have been able to create a robust parser and have integrated with hydra with a cli command .

You can find the URI’s of my work divided below :

Phase 1

I was able to create a basic hydra api documentation from the open api doc using a simple parser .

Phase 2

Phase 1 made me realise hydrus needs an upgrade to accommodate features of open api so that we can improve the conversion rate . We also worked and researched quite a bit on how to have semantic refs automatically .

Phase 3

Parser was now more or less done and we decided to prepare a demo and i had to create a CLI command too . I with my mate Sandeep started working on astrodemo repo as well , we tried to showcase the abilities of parser and client via a web interface , we were able to successfully create a demo .

The blog posts created during the summer are here.

Some other important links

  • PR’s merged during the summer are here
  • Commits made to hydrus are here
  • Commits made to astrodemo are here
  • Documentation for the parser is here
  • Repositories : hydrus , astrodemo

Blog Posts

--

--