People of OST: Anagha Murtarkar, Software Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom
3 min readJul 27, 2019

--

Anagha is a software engineer who joined OST’s backend team. She loves building scalable applications using new technologies. In her leisure time, she likes doing competitive coding. She pursued her engineering from Pune Institute of Computer Technology (PICT).

Tell us about yourself!

I was born and raised in akola, it’s in the central part of India. I did my schooling and junior college in akola itself. I used to live there with my mom, my dad, and my elder sister. Five years ago, I moved to Pune to complete my formal education. I received my engineering bachelors of computer engineering from the University of Pune. When I was in my final year of university, I got hired at OST, along with four other team members. I have been working at OST for about a year now.

What does your role as a Software Engineer at OST entail?

I work completely on backend technologies. My task is to understand the project requirements, it’s needs, and everything from our product manager. Once requirements are clear, we discuss the design architecture, database schema, and then come up with a solution that is optimized. Once everything is finalized, I write and test the code for it. If everything is working well, I ask my peers to review the code. I implement any changes or optimizations that may arise. While doing this, I understand the tech stack, I conduct any research that is required, and I follow all coding style while maintaining code quality. This is what I develop and do on a day to day basis.

What do you like most about working OST?

The best thing about working at OST is it’s work culture. Even though I am a bit new, I am still involved in the entire project cycle, from discussing requirements to deploying the code on productions. I can explore every minor detail that comes in between. I get the opportunity to explore all the things that I’ve never worked upon. I really appreciate having this opportunity.

Where do you see the future development of blockchain technologies?

I first heard about blockchain about two years ago. At that time, blockchain was a buzz word and I didn’t know much about it. When I was in my final year of university, I saw that many people were working on blockchain based projects. Upon reading more about it, I was amazed by the power of blockchain. I am excited to see various use cases of blockchain and how OST will help the industry solve and enable various use cases.

Thank you, Anagha!

Be sure to check out last week’s interview with OST senior software engineer Sachin Chauhan. Subscribe to our YouTube channel or listen to the audio format anywhere you listen to podcasts, including iTunes, Stitcher, and Spotify. We’re also now available on Alexa! Simply add “OST LIVE” to your flash briefing.

About OST

OST powers the future of brand loyalty. Innovators use OST Platform to reward behaviours and increase engagement with Brand Currency. It’s a complete set of developer tools that any company can integrate without any in-house blockchain expertise. OST partners reach more than 300 million end-users and we will be rolling out live implementations throughout 2019. OST currently has offices in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, and Pune, and is expanding to other markets. OST is backed by leading institutional equity investors including Tencent, Greycroft, Vectr Ventures and 500 Startups.

--

--