People of OST: Tejas Sangani, Software Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom

--

Tejas is a software engineer who is passionate about building smooth and highly responsive applications using front-end and back-end technologies. He holds a degree in Computer Science from the University of Pune.

Tell us about yourself!

I’m currently based in Pune. My home town is Mangrulpir. It’s located in the western part of India. I did my schooling in Mangrulpir and then came to Pune where I completed my bachelors in Computer Science from the University of Pune. Before OST, I worked at a startup company as a front end developer. The company created websites for different organizations. I completed two websites during my time there, one for SP College and one for Balaji Institute. I got to learn a lot about front end technologies including HTML, CSS, and Javascript. I then joined digital marketing solutions company Sokrati as a tech intern where I gained hands on experience on Javascript. I love front end technologies, but my dream is to become a full stack developer. After Sokrati, I started to focus more on back end technologies, databases, and computer programming. After graduating last June, I joined the OST team as a software engineer. Aside from tech, I love to travel and help people. I’m also a diehard cricket fan. I love to keep up to update with cricket and I am super excited about the Cricket World Cup 2019.

What does your role at OST entail?

I initially worked on OST KYC for six months under the guidance of Aman Barbaria. I’ve worked on creating new features, meeting requirements from our product managers, and making sure that my code meets our standards. I am a backend developer and work with Ruby on Rails, databases, and a little bit on node js. I have contributed to OST’s open source repositories and writing the SDK for OST KYC. I also worked on writing SDKs for OST Platform so that partner companies can easily integrate with OST. I am currently working on OST’s analytics team creating graphical dashboards based on Brand Token transaction data. Partners will be able to easily track transaction metrics.

What do you like most about working OST?

What I like most about working at OST is the company culture. The team is very friendly and very helpful. We work together, so when someone needs assistance, we help them resolve the problem and guide each other to get to the correct solution. We also play indoor games and have outings at least twice every six months. Our Pune office also celebrates the Indian culture and festivities. The culture here excites me, it’s the best environment for any developer.

What are you most excited about for OST?

The products that I’m currently working on and the partner pilots are the two main things that I’m most excited about. I’m excited to see how mainstream applications are going to integrate with OST. Partners are integrating OST into their product and I’m intrigued to see how they are going to leverage the blockchain for their business logic.

Where do you see the future role of blockchain?

When I joined OST last June, most of my friends were mainly interested in Bitcoin trading. When I talk to my friends now, they are familiar with decentralized networks, tokenization, and smart contracts. In just this past year, I have seen many people become more informed about the adoption of blockchain technologies. I believe that in the future, many people will adopt blockchain and it will become a new internet for the world.

Thank you, Tejas!

Be sure to check out our last interview with OST lead software engineer Alpesh Modi. Subscribe to our YouTube channel or listen to the audio format anywhere you listen to podcasts, including iTunes, Stitcher, and Spotify. We’re also now available on Alexa! Simply add “OST LIVE” to your flash briefing.

About OST

OST powers the future of brand loyalty. Innovators use OST Platform to reward behaviours and increase engagement with Brand Currency. It’s a complete set of developer tools that any company can integrate without any in-house blockchain expertise. OST partners reach more than 300 million end-users and we will be rolling out live implementations throughout 2019. OST currently has offices in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, and Pune, and is expanding to other markets. OST is backed by leading institutional equity investors including Tencent, Greycroft, Vectr Ventures and 500 Startups.

--

--