I’m Ready to Leave

Edward Punales
Other Doors
Published in
1 min readFeb 17, 2019
source

Doesn’t look it,
But it feels it.

I used to make people happy,
Now I can’t make anyone happy.

I’m not beautiful.
And I wish people would stop pretending I was.
It just makes it worse.

I hurt all the time.
I don’t know how other people don’t.
I don’t know anything anymore.

I think I’d be okay,
If they just let me sleep all the time.

Sometimes I wish somebody,
Could tell me,
“Everything’s gonna be alright,”
But honestly,
I don’t think I’d believe them anyway.

I’m ready to leave,
But I can’t move.

Part of me wants to stay here.
Part of me can’t forget,
When it used to be better.

I’m stuck here,
For now.

For now…

This poem was written during a very dark time in my life. It stands as a snapshot of where I once was, a reminder of the depths of despair the human heart can reach. If any of this rings true for you, please remember this; Life is hard, but there is hope. There is happiness.

--

--

Edward Punales
Other Doors

I am a writer and filmmaker. I love storytelling in all its forms. Contact Info and Other Links: https://medium.com/@edwardpgames/my-bibliography-6ad2c863c6be