LIFE/KINDNESS/SERENDIPITY

The No Longer Homeless Man

He shares my home

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Be Open
Published in
3 min readJan 28, 2022

--

Photo by author. My ‘front garden’

Some of you will have read of how I persuaded a man with no home to come and live with me. You can read about it here: The Homeless in My Home.

It is working very well indeed. He is very good natured, kind, and thoughtful. Without being asked he has carried out some minor repairs on my home. He seems to be the type of man I admire; skilled in various ways with anything that needs hands. He is currently working on making water tight the bottom of the fence at my porch, as water runs off my neighbour’s land into mine and causes quite a bit of damage. I told him my idea, but his is far superior.

I live with long-term illness. Without being asked he has taken up a lot of the household chores. Immediately, my life is much easier and I am less fatigued. Yes, I have had to show him where things are and where things belong, but that would be true of any person.

Just as he came here, it was discovered that a rash to the back of my side was infected. This was because I cannot see it and putting ointment on it was futile. I felt so defeated. My home companion has applied the antibiotic cream morning and evening, so now it is almost completely healed. Grateful doesn’t come close to how I feel.

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Be Open

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.